Note: While our most popular guides have been translated into Spanish, some guides are only available in English.

Google Workspace pricing, billing, and invoices

You can manage your Google Workspace (previously G Suite) billing and payments from your Squarespace account. We charge the same card you use to pay for your site. This guide includes information about Google Workspace billing.

Pricing

Any Google Workspace plan you buy through Squarespace uses the Google Workspace Business Starter plan and may be subject to sales tax. It’s not possible to switch to a different Google Workspace billing cycle after signing up. For example, if you sign up for an annual plan, you can't change it to monthly later, and vice versa.

Annual plan

  • $72 / €62.40 / £55.20 / A$100.80 per user/email address plus tax if applicable
  • Billed annually directly through Squarespace
  • Prorated pricing (for example, if you add an email address halfway into your annual billing cycle, we’ll only charge you half the fee for the first payment)

Monthly plan

  • $6 / €5.20 / £4.60 / A$8.40 per user/email address plus tax if applicable
  • Billed monthly directly through Squarespace
  • Prorated pricing (for example, if you add an email address halfway into your monthly billing cycle, we’ll only charge you half the fee for the first month)

Taxes

Your Google Workspace subscription may be subject to state and local sales taxes. If your account is subject to tax, any tax appears at checkout. To learn more, visit our guides about taxes in the United States, United Kingdom, European Union, Canada, or Australia.

Free year offer

You may be eligible for a free year of Google Workspace when you sign up through Squarespace.

About the Google Workspace Business Starter plan

All Google Workspace accounts bought through Squarespace use Google Workspace's Business Starter plan. The plan includes these features:

  • Business email with Gmail
  • Google Calendar
  • Google Drive
  • Google Docs
  • Google Hangouts
  • Other collaborative office products

Use other Google Workspace plans or Google Voice

If you want to use Google's Business Standard or Business Plus plans, or Google Voice, you need to sign up for Google Workspace directly through Google.

If you already signed up for Google Workspace's Business Starter plan through Squarespace and want to upgrade to a different Google Workspace plan or use Google Voice, transfer your Google Workspace account to Google.

Google Workspace billing and other subscriptions

Billing for Google Workspace is independent from website and Squarespace domain subscriptions. Here’s what happens if you cancel your other subscriptions or let them expire:

  • Website subscription - We won’t turn off auto-renew for your Google Workspace subscription and you can continue using it.
  • Squarespace domain subscription - We won't turn off auto-renew for your Google Workspace subscription, but your Google Workspace account won't work without an active domain with MX records. If you transfer your domain away from Squarespace, you can continue managing Google Workspace through Squarespace or cancel it to transfer the account to Google.

Review subscription details and invoices

You can review your subscription details and invoices in several places:

  • Billing & accounts panel - Review your Google Workspace email account, number of seats and users, renewal date, and more.
  • Invoices panel - Review your invoices. If you have multiple Google Workspace users, the Google Workspace fee appears as a lump sum. For example, if you have two users and you’re on the Google Workspace monthly plan, your invoice total is $12.

Auto-renew

To prevent service interruptions, all Google Workspace subscriptions renew automatically by default. With auto-renew enabled, you don't need to take any further action to renew your subscription, as long as the payment method you have on file is valid. To disable auto-renew, visit Canceling your Google Workspace account.

Note: If you sign up for an annual plan but don’t log in and accept Google Workspace’s Terms of Service, the Auto-renew option appears faded in your Google Workspace Billing panel and you won’t be able to enable it. When you accept Google Workspace’s Terms of Service, Auto-renew will automatically enable and you can disable it if necessary.

When does my subscription renew?

Your subscription renews on the same billing cycle you signed up for, either monthly or annual. It's not possible to switch your billing cycle. You can find the renewal date for your Google Workspace subscription in the Billing & account panel. When you're actually charged depends on your billing plan:

  • Monthly - You’re charged on the listed renewal date.
  • Annual - You’re charged 15 days before your renewal date. We send an email reminder 30 days before your renewal date to give you time to update your credit card information or disable the renewal.

Refund policy

Refund eligibility depends on your Google Workspace plan. To learn more about refunds, visit Refund policies.

If we can’t charge your card

If we can’t authorize the renewal charge, your Google Workspace account becomes past due. We’ll try to charge your payment method on file several times over the next 15 days. You can update your card any time during this grace period. To retry your payment:

Annual plan

  1. In the Home menu, click Settings, then click Email & Google Workspace.
  2. Click the Renew Google Workspace button
  3. Follow the prompts to update your billing credit card.

Monthly plan

  1. In the Home menu, click Settings, then click Billing & Account.
  2. Follow the steps to update your billing credit card.

If we can’t authorize the card after 15 days, your Google Workspace account is suspended.

Tip: To keep your Google Workspace account active, always keep your billing credit card up to date.

Reactivate a suspended account

If we suspend your Google Workspace account, you'll lose access to your email inboxes and other Google Workspace features. You’ll then have 40 days to reactivate your Google Workspace subscription before it’s completely cancelled in Squarespace and transferred to Google.

  1. Ensure you update your billing credit card.
  2. In the Home menu, click Settings, then click Email & Google Workspace.
  3. Click Reactivate Google Workspace.
  4. Verify the payment information and terms, then click Reactivate account.

Reseller and API access

By default, your Google Workspace account includes reseller and API access. These permissions let Squarespace find your account details for billing and support purposes. If you disable access to either one, Squarespace can't offer billing support, and your account transfers to Google on its renewal date.

To avoid this, ensure both are always enabled in your Google Workspace account.

To enable reseller access:

  1. Log into your Google Workspace Admin console.
  2. Click Account Settings, then click Account Management.
  3. Ensure the Reseller Access box is checked.
  4. Click Save changes.

To enable API access:

  1. Log into your Google Workspace Admin console.
  2. Click Security, then click API controls.
  3. Ensure the Enable API access box is checked.
  4. Click Save changes.
Was this article helpful?
38 out of 187 found this helpful