Note: While our most popular guides have been translated into Spanish, some guides are only available in English.

Creating gated content

After you enable Member Areas for your site, you’ll see a new navigation section in your Pages panel for Member Areas. If you’ve already subscribed to Member Areas, you can create as many member areas in this section as your pricing plan allows. Any pages added to these member areas will be gated, and only members who created an account and sign up for a membership to that area can see the content.

Tip: It's free to enable and build member areas, but you’ll need to choose a pricing plan and subscribe to Member Areas before your site visitors can sign up for memberships.

Create a member area

To create a new member area:

  1. In the Home Menu, click Pages.
  2. Click the + icon next to the Member Areas section to enter the Member Areas creation screen.
  3. Name your Member Area.
  4. Set your Membership Fee, indicating if your member area is available for free, a one time price, or as a recurring subscription.
  5. Click Finish.
Tip: You must have Administrator or Content Editor site permissions to create new member areas.

Membership fees

A membership fee is the price members pay to gain access to a member area on your site. When you create a new member area, you’ll set a fee amount and the frequency at which you intend to charge members. Choose from the following options:

  • One Time - Visitors pay a single membership fee and get unrestricted access to the member area.
  • Recurring - Visitors pay a membership fee on a recurring basis (weekly or monthly) to subscribe to the member area. To create an annual membership, set the recurring free frequency to every 12 months.
  • Free - Visitors can access a member area’s gated content free of charge after establishing a Customer Account.
Tip: The fee structure you choose affects the experience users have when signing up for a membership. Learn more in our How members access their Customer Account guide.

To collect membership fees from your members, you'll need to connect a payment processor to your site. Learn more about Payments and the Commerce features that come with your Member Areas subscription.

Member area settings

After you create a member area, it'll appear beneath the Member Areas section in the Pages panel. To open a member area’s settings, hover over the member area title and click the gear icon.

Here are some of the settings you can change:

  • Name - In the General tab, this name appears as the title of a member area in the Pages panel, Member Sign Up Blocks, and the modal new members use to sign up for a membership.
  • Description - In the General tab, this description appears in the Member Sign Up Block for site visitors to review before signing up for a membership, and in the Membership Summary at checkout.
  • Membership Fee - In the Fee tab, change the membership fee amount and frequency. Any changes made to a member area's recurring membership fee amount will only affect new members.
  • Edit Access Denied screen - In the General tab, customize the page visitors see if they try to access content in a member area they don't have a membership to.
  • Manage Global Settings - In the General tab, use this shortcut to navigate to the Member Areas panel.

Add content to a member area

After creating a member area in the Pages panel, you can add members-only pages beneath it. Create content such as classes, workshops, or media for different communities and skill levels. Only site visitors who sign up for a membership to that member area can view those pages.

Pages in a member area don't have SEO options and aren't indexed in your site map. This keeps them hidden from search results to maintain the exclusivity of members-only content.

To add a page to a member area:

  1. In the Home Menu, click Pages.
  2. Under Member Areas, locate the appropriate member area, then click Add Page.
  3. Select a layout option from the Pages menu.
  4. Enter a page title in the text field and press Enter.
Tip: The first page added to a member area automatically becomes that member area’s homepage.

You can also drag and drop an existing page into the Member Areas section of the Pages panel. When you move a page into a member area, the page’s SEO options and passwords are deactivated, and its URL is removed from your site map. If you move the page back out of your member area, these settings are automatically reinstated.

Tip: Each page can only be in a single member area. To include the same page of content in two or more members areas, duplicate the page and drag it into the other member area.

In addition to pages, you can also add links to your Member navigation. Use this option to link your members out to external sources, such as a members-only forum or Facebook page.

If you've chosen to replace your site navigation with the Member Navigation (version 7.1 only), you may want to add navigation links to pages on your public site in the Member Navigation. This helps members find your public content, even when logged into their Customer Account.

Note: Member areas don’t support folders.

Promote member areas on your site

Use Member Sign Up Blocks to promote member areas on a page, blog post, or other content area on your main site. Learn more about how to add and customize these blocks, visit Member Sign Up Blocks.

We recommend creating a public page on your site that includes Member Sign Up Blocks for each member area you offer. This allows visitors to compare and contrast all member areas and sign up for the most appropriate membership all in one place. Create your own or use one of our professionally designed Member Areas page layouts.

Protect member area content

When a site visitor who hasn’t signed up for a membership tries to view pages in a member area, they'll encounter an Access Denied screen. They’ll be prompted to create a Customer Account and pay any membership fees, so they can access the member area’s gated content.

Keep in mind, we can’t guarantee the security of content in your members-only pages once members have access to them. It isn’t possible to completely prevent someone from copying members-only text, images, or audio from your site and sharing them with non-members, but there are several approaches you can take to protect your content and discourage unlawful copying. Learn more in Preventing visitors from downloading your images and audio.

Delete member areas

As a best practice, we recommend you email all the members of a member area before you delete it. Learn more about how to contact your members in Managing members.

To delete a member area:

  1. In the Home Menu, click Pages.
  2. Under Member Areas, hover over the appropriate member area and click the gear icon to open Member Area Settings.
  3. In the General tab, click Delete Member Area.
  4. Click OK to confirm.
Note: Deleted member areas and the memberships to them can’t be restored.

After you delete a member area:

  • All existing memberships are cancelled and members receive your cancellation email, notifying them of this change.
    • Future charges of recurring membership fees are cancelled.
    • Members can still log into their Customer Accounts, but they won’t see the Member Navigation or links to member areas from the Memberships section of their Customer Accounts panel.
  • The pages from that member area move into the Not Linked section. Any members who saved direct links to those pages can use these links to access your now unrestricted content. Consider using page passwords to keep these pages private.
Was this article helpful?
5 out of 9 found this helpful