Note: While our most popular guides have been translated into Spanish, some guides are only available in English.

Canceling a Squarespace domain

If you have a custom Squarespace domain and no longer need it, you can cancel it at any time. Your cancellation options depend on when you registered the domain:

  • If you registered the domain within the past five days, you can cancel it immediately. 
  • After five days of registration, you can disable auto-renew. This sets the domain to expire at its next billing date. You can fully disconnect the domain by editing its DNS settings.

To learn more about the life cycle and schedule for our domains, visit Squarespace domain renewals and expiration.

Note: Ensure you no longer need the domain. If you cancel your domain or let it expire, there's no guarantee you can purchase it again, or that it will be available for the same price.

Before you begin

Note these details when preparing to cancel your domain:

Tip: To give your visitors time to learn your new domain, set a primary domain and disable auto-renew on the domain you no longer want. This helps direct traffic to your site, while your new primary domain appears in the browser bar.

Refund policy

If you cancel your domain within five days of the initial purchase, you'll receive a full refund. We don't offer refunds after this five-day grace period.

To learn more about refunds, visit Refund policies.

Cancel the domain

If you registered your domain within the last five days, you can cancel the domain immediately. We measure this five-day grace period to the minute. For example, if you registered a domain at 8:00am on January 1st, you can cancel until January 6th at 7:59am.

To cancel immediately:

  1. Open the Domains panel. In the Home menu, click Settings, then click Domains.
  2. Click the domain you'd like to cancel.
  3. Scroll down and click Cancel Domain.

Note: If Cancel Domain doesn't appear, you might not be able to cancel the domain immediately because:

  • The five-day grace period for cancellation passed.
  • You registered a country code top-level domain (ccTLD) such as .com.au or .de, which doesn't have a cancellation grace period. To learn more, review your domain's specific rules and features.

In either situation, you can disable auto-renew to cancel the domain.

After you cancel:

  • In most cases, your domain will stop connecting to your site within an hour, though it may take up to 72 hours to process.
  • If you paid for the domain, you’ll receive a refund for the full amount of the annual fee. Refunds may take 3 to 10 business days to process.
  • If you registered the domain as part of our free offer, you can register a new free domain. This is helpful if you need to rename the domain.

Disable auto-renew

If you've had the domain for more than five days, you can disable auto-renew so it expires at what would be its next billing date. Until that date, the domain will continue to point to your site.

Note: If your free domain expires, you'll need to convert it to a paid domain to reactivate it. It's not possible to register more than one free domain per site.
Tip: For help canceling a domain linked to parking page, visit Parking pages.
  1. In the Home menu, click Settings, then click Billing & Account.
  2. Click Billing.
  3. Scroll down to Subscriptions.
  4. Click Domains.
  5. Click the domain you’d like to cancel.
  6. Scroll down and uncheck Auto-renew.

After following these steps, you can disconnect it from your site by removing its DNS records. See the next step for details.

Disconnect the domain (optional)

After disabling auto-renew, you can also disconnect it from your site in DNS settings.

Note: Removing these DNS records stops your domain from directing to your primary domain or any other site. Only proceed with this step if you’re sure you don’t need this domain.
  1. Open DNS settings for your domain.
  2. Hover over the Website Defaults records.
  3. Next to any records in that section, click the red trash can icon to the right, and delete the records.
  4. If the Website Defaults section is empty, check for other records with www, *, or @ in the Host column. Delete those records instead.
  5. Usually, your domain will stop connecting to your site within an hour, though it may take up to 72 hours to process.

Was this article helpful?
367 out of 895 found this helpful
Canceling a Squarespace domain