Note: While our most popular guides have been translated into Spanish, some guides are only available in English.
Connecting social accounts

In this guide, you'll learn how to connect your Squarespace site to social networks, like Facebook, Instagram, and other online services.

After connecting social accounts, you can:

  • Display content from your social profiles on your site, like Instagram posts and tweets.
  • Automatically share content from your site when you publish it.
Tip: To log into Squarespace through Facebook, Google, or Twitter, visit Changing how you log into Squarespace.

Social icons

To add icons that link to your social media profiles, use the Social Links panel instead. To learn more, visit Adding social icons.

Watch a video

Before you begin

  • To connect a social account, you'll need the account's login credentials.
  • To add more than one account from the same service (for example, multiple Twitter accounts), first log out completely from all accounts for that service.

Available connected accounts

You can connect many different social accounts to your Squarespace site. Click a link below to learn more about what each integration offers:

For a list of company logos you can add as social icons, visit Adding social icons.

Note: We removed the ability to connect Google+ to Squarespace on November 20, 2018. Google plans to fully discontinue this service sometime in 2019. Until it's officially discontinued, you can share links on Google+ manually. Learn more about the change in Google's blog post.

Authorize an account

To authorize a social account:

  1. In the Home Menu, click Settings, and then click Connected Accounts.
  2. Click Connect Account.
  3. In the Connected Accounts menu, select the account you'd like to add.
  4. Log in with your account name and password, and then click Authorize. This step varies by service. For more help, visit the guide on the specific service.
  1. In the Home Menu, tap Settings, and then tap Connected Accounts.
  2. Tap Connect Account.
  3. In the Connected Accounts menu, select the account you'd like to add.
  4. A login page for the selected service will open in a new browser window.
  5. For certain accounts, log in with your account name and password, and then tap Authorize. This step varies by service. For more help, visit the guide on the specific service.

Reset account data

For some accounts with related social blocks, like Instagram and Twitter, you can refresh the connected feeds by clicking Reset Data. After resetting, we recommend waiting a few minutes and refreshing your browser to see the updates.

click reset data

Disconnect an account

Disconnecting a social account removes it from all areas of your site, including any push options. Blocks that pull from social media, like Instagram and Twitter, will no longer display content.

To remove an account from your list of authorized connected accounts:

  1. In the Home Menu, click Settings, and then click Connected Accounts.
  2. Click the account you want to remove.
  3. Click Disconnect.
  4. Click Confirm.

Troubleshooting

I'm seeing a "Connected Accounts Deactivated" message when I log into my site.

Making changes to a connected account, like changing the password or permissions, can often cause the account to disconnect. To resolve the issue, reconnect the account using the following steps:

  1. Log out of the affected account on your browser. For example, if your Tumblr account is deactivated, log out of Tumblr before continuing.
  2. From the Home Menu, click Settings, then Connected Accounts. The deactivated account will show an error message next to the title. You can also click any account to open the details.
  3. Return to the Connected Accounts panel and click the account name.
  4. Click Disconnect at the bottom of the account settings.
  5. Click Connect Account to add the account again, using the new password if applicable. Allow full permission for Squarespace to make changes to the connected account.
  1. Log out of the affected account on your mobile browser. For example, if your Tumblr account is deactivated, log out of Tumblr before continuing.
  2. From the Home Menu, tap Settings, then Connected Accounts. The deactivated account will show an error message next to the title. You can also click any account to open the details.
  3. Return to the Connected Accounts panel and tap the account name.
  4. Tap Disconnect at the bottom of the account settings.
  5. Tap Connect Account to add the account again, using the new password if applicable. Allow full permission for Squarespace to make changes to the connected account.

Next steps

After connecting and authorizing an account, you can:

Was this article helpful?
107 out of 292 found this helpful
Connecting social accounts