Note: While our most popular guides have been translated into Spanish, some guides are only available in English.
Changing your billing plan

You can change your Squarespace website plan and cycle at any time. This guide covers changing your plan and how often you’re billed for service (monthly or annually).

Before you begin

Site owners and contributors with Admin or Billing permissions can make these changes.
  • To change your plan and billing cycle, change your plan first, save your changes, then return to the Billing panel to change your billing cycle. You can't change your plan and billing cycle at the same time.
  • If your site is past due, update your billing credit card before changing your plan.

Switch between billing plans

Note: To use a different card to pay for a new plan, first enter the new card, then follow the steps below.

To upgrade or downgrade your plan:

  1. Click this link to open your Account Dashboard, then click the site you want to edit.
  2. In the Home Menu, click Settings, click Billing & Account, then click Billing.
  3. Click Website or Store under Subscriptions.
  4. Click Change Plan.
    billing_panel_-_change_plan.jpg
  5. Select a new plan. To learn more about each plan, visit Choosing the right Squarespace billing plan.
  6. Click Confirm Plan Change.

Change your billing cycle

Squarespace website subscriptions have two billing cycle options: monthly and annual. It's not possible to pay for multiple years at a time.

To switch to annual or monthly billing:

  1. Click this link to open your Account Dashboard, then click the site you want to edit.
  2. In the Home Menu, click Settings, click Billing & Account, then click Billing.
  3. Click Website or Store under Subscriptions.
  4. Click Change Billing Cycle.
    billing_panel_-_change_billing_cycle.jpg
  5. Select Annual or Monthly from the Billing Cycle options.
  6. Click Change Cycle.

What happens to your site when you downgrade your plan

If you’re on a Business or Commerce plan and change to the Personal plan, Premium features will be removed from your site. Before downgrading to the Personal plan, review the features that you'll lose. You'll also see a reminder when you select the new plan. You can switch back to a Business or Commerce plan at any time to regain full access to these features.

Before switching to a Personal plan, you may also need to remove site contributors. Personal plans have a limit of two contributors for a site, including the site owner. 

Refunds or charges

If you switched to monthly billing

If you switched from annual to monthly billing, you’ll start a new billing cycle. Your invoice will be based on the cost of the monthly plan subtracted from the cost of the unused time on the annual plan.

In most cases, this will be a refund, which will take 3 to 10 business days to process. However, if you had less than one month left on an annual cycle, you'll be charged a prorated amount.

If you switched to annual billing

If you switched from monthly to annual billing, you’ll start a new billing cycle. The invoice will be based on the cost of the unused time from the month subtracted from the cost of the annual plan.

If you downgraded your plan

If you downgraded your plan, you’ll be refunded the prorated difference between the two plans. The refund is based on the remaining time in your billing cycle. Your billing cycle and renewal date won't change.

If you upgraded your plan

If you upgraded your plan, you’ll be charged the prorated difference between the two plans based on the remaining time in your billing cycle. Your billing cycle and renewal date won't change.

Review your renewal status

When you change your billing plan or cycle, your subscription will be set to renew automatically. If you don’t want your subscription to renew, uncheck Auto-renew every time you change your plan.

To review your site's renewal status:

  1. In the Home Menu, click Settings, click Billing & Account, then click Billing.
  2. Under Subscriptions, click Website.
  3. Your next renewal/billing date is listed under Next Payment
  4. At the bottom of the panel, check or uncheck Auto-renew to enable or disable it.

Change your billing date

To change your site's billing date without changing your billing cycle, you can disable auto-renew and reactivate the site on the day you'd like to be charged.

Keep in mind that turning off auto-renew will cause your site to expire on the Next Payment date, which means that your site will be taken offline until you reactivate it.

What happens to your Squarespace Domain

For Squarespace domains you purchased

If you purchased a Squarespace Domain and switched from annual to monthly, the domain will stay on its own annual billing cycle. You can review your domain's renewal date in the Domains panel.

For your free Squarespace Domain

If you registered a legacy Squarespace Domain and switch to monthly billing, check Renew my domain to keep the domain registered. It'll convert to a paid domain, renewing for $20 annually. After you renew the domain, it can't be made free again.

If you don't want to keep the domain, leave Renew my domain unchecked when you switch to monthly billing. The domain will expire at the end of its current billing cycle. 

Was this article helpful?
92 out of 356 found this helpful