Note: While our most popular guides have been translated into Spanish, some guides are only available in English.
Cancelling a website subscription

You can cancel your active website subscription at any time. There are two ways to end your subscription:

  • Option 1 - Cancel your subscription and immediately to take your site offline.
  • Option 2 - Disable auto-renew and let your site expire.

This guide explores both options and reviews important steps to take before cancelling.

To cancel a trial, follow our steps for cancelling a trial site instead.

First, check your other subscriptions

You might have other active subscriptions, like Squarespace Domains or G Suite. These subscriptions are different than your website. If no longer want them, you'll need to cancel them separately. This includes domains you transferred to Squarespace.

Before you cancel, we'll show you your active subscriptions and let you know you can cancel them. However, they won't automatically cancel unless you choose to do so.

More important information

Please review the following tips before you cancel:

  • We’ll only issue a refund if you’re cancelling an annual website subscription within the subscription’s first 14 days.
  • Your site content is marked for deletion 30 days after you cancel your site. Before cancelling, you can export your content so you can import it to a new site.

Refunds

After we collect your payment, we follow these refund rules: 

  • Full refunds are issued automatically for annual website subscriptions canceled within 14 days of the first payment.
  • We don't offer refunds after 14 days following the first payment.
  • We don't offer refunds for monthly plans.
  • We don't offer refunds for renewal payments. (Fifteen days before your annual subscription renews, we'll send an email letting you know you're scheduled for a payment. This gives you a chance to update your credit card or cancel the renewal before the charge is processed.) 
Tip: If you don’t remember when you paid, you can review your website subscription invoices.

Other option: Take your site offline temporarily

To temporarily unpublish or hide your site, we suggest continuing your subscription and setting a site-wide password instead of cancelling your subscription.

Watch a video

Option 1 - Cancel your subscription

This option cancels your subscription immediately.

  1. In the Home Menu, click Settings, and then click Billing & Account.
  2. Click Billing.
  3. Under Subscriptions, click Website.

choose_website.png

  1. Click Cancel Website Subscription.

click_cancel_website_subscription.png

  1. Select your reason for cancelling your subscription from the drop-down menu. We'd like to hear about your experience with Squarespace. If you don't want to provide a reason, click Skip.

If you have continuing subscriptions

If you have active subscriptions attached to your site, you’ll see a Your Other Subscriptions panel where you can review them. 

These subscriptions won’t be cancelled automatically. You can keep them active and manage them through your site or cancel them later.

Review these subscriptions, then click Continue.

cancel_2.png 

Click Cancel Site Subscription.

cancel_site_subscription.jpg

Until you cancel your domain or G Suite subscriptions, your cancelled site is a parking page. You can log in to continue managing your Squarespace Domains or G Suite subscriptions.

If you don't want to continue managing subscriptions through Squarespace, you can cancel G Suite, move your domain to another Squarespace site, or transfer your domain to another host.

If you don’t have continuing subscriptions

If your site has no additional paid subscriptions for Squarespace Domains or G Suite, click Cancel Site Subscription.

cancel_site_subscription.jpg 

Option 2 - Disable auto-renew

This option sets your subscription to expire at the end of your current billing cycle. 

  1. In the Home Menu, click Settings, and then click Billing & Account.
  2. Click Billing.
  3. Under Subscriptions, click Website.
  4. Uncheck Auto-Renew.
  5. Click Save to confirm.

To learn more, visit Subscription auto-renewals.

FAQ

If I cancel a site subscription, what should I do with my custom domain?

For domains you registered through Squarespace, you have a few options:

  • Continue managing your domain through Squarespace and keep it as a parking page. You can add a site to your domain again at any time.
  • Move your domain to another Squarespace site.
  • Transfer your domain to a new provider. 

For domains you purchased elsewhere and connected to your site, take them with you by unlinking them and changing settings in your provider's account.

To learn more, visit What to do with your domain if you leave Squarespace.

If I cancel a site subscription, what happens to my G Suite subscription?

Cancelling your site subscription won't automatically cancel your G Suite account. If you cancel a site subscription that has a G Suite subscription, you'll continue to be billed for G Suite through Squarespace.

Even when the subscription is cancelled, you can still log into your site to manage your G Suite account from the Email panel. To cancel your G Suite subscription separately, visit Cancelling your G Suite account.

Will my site appear in search engine search results after I cancel?

After you cancel your site subscription, your site won't be indexed further because it won’t be public. If you don't move your site to another provider, it will eventually disappear from search results. Note that this takes time, and timing can vary based on each search engine’s indexing activity. Squarespace has no control over removing your site from any search engine’s search results after you cancel your subscription. 

If you move your site to another provider, a search engine might index the new content once the site is active.

Will Squarespace keep my site content in case I come back?

When a subscription is canceled or expires, or your trial expires, your site will be offline. However, we won’t immediately mark your site for deletion. If you recently cancelled your site or if it recently expired, you may be able to recover its content within 30 days after cancelling.

You can also permanently delete your site and its content. To learn more, visit Deleting your site and content.

What happens if I disable auto-renew?

Your site will be active until the date your subscription ends. At that point, your subscription will expire.

To learn more, visit Subscription auto-renewals.

Can I reactivate my site after I cancel my subscription?

Yes. To reactivate your site, follow this guide.

What’s the difference between cancelling a subscription and deleting a site?

Cancelling a subscription takes your site offline and stops your subscription payments. Once your site is cancelled, its content is marked for permanent deletion after 30 days.

Deleting a site immediately marks its content for permanent deletion. You can only delete a site that’s already expired or cancelled.

Was this article helpful?
75 out of 348 found this helpful
Cancelling a website subscription