Note: While our most popular guides have been translated into Spanish, some guides are only available in English.

Starting over

If you want to start over with a Squarespace site, there are several ways to do so without creating a new site. With these options, you can keep some of your content or style settings on a site you've already worked on.

If you don't want to keep your content or style settings, you can always create a new trial to start from scratch. This guide goes over the steps for each option.

Watch a video

This video applies to version 7.0.

Options for starting over

Your options for starting over depend on which version of the platform your site is on and what kinds of content or style settings you want to keep:

  • Reset style settings - Keep all the content of your current site, but restore its original style settings.
  • Delete your site content - Remove content you've added to your site, but keep the style settings intact.
  • Redesign your site - Keep some or all of the content on your current site, but choose a new style and structure.
  • Start a new site - Create an entirely new site. With this option, you lose all content and style settings, but you can import products and move existing domain and G Suite subscriptions.

Option 1 - Reset style settings

You can reset your template's style tweaks to their defaults. Fonts, colors, spacing, and other styles will revert to how they displayed when you first created the site. This won't change your site's content.

With this option, you can:

  • Reset style tweaks to their default settings.
  • Preserve all pages and content.
  • Keep your subscription.

Fonts, colors, and other elements are styled individually, so there are multiple ways to reset or start over with new style settings. For example, you could keep your current color theme but reset your font pack to default settings. Follow the steps below for resetting different settings.

Fonts

To reset font styles:

  1. In the Home Menu, click Design, then click Fonts.
  2. Scroll to the bottom of the panel and click Reset Font Pack.
  3. Click Confirm, then click Save.

Alternatively, you can choose a different font pack.

Colors

To reset a custom color palette:

  1. In the Home Menu, click Design, then click Colors.
  2. Click Edit above your color palette.
  3. Click the Custom Colors drop-down menu and select Designer Palettes.
  4. Select the default palette you want.
  5. Click Save.

To reset a color theme:

  1. In the Colors panel, click Section Themes.
  2. Click the pencil icon on your chosen theme.
  3. Scroll to the bottom of the panel and click Restore to Default Themes.
  4. Click Reset to confirm, then click Save.

Alternatively, you can choose a different color theme.

Other site elements

To reset the styles of other site elements:

  1. In the Home Menu, click Design.
  2. Click Buttons, Spacing, Product Items, or Image Blocks.
  3. At the bottom of the panel, click Reset Styles to Default.
  4. Click Reset to confirm, then click Save.

It's not possible to reset individual section styles to their default. Add a new section of the same type to start again with the default section styles, then move the blocks from the original section to the new section.

To reset Site Styles:

  1. In the Home Menu, click Design, then click Site Styles.
  2. Scroll to the bottom and click Reset Styles to Defaults.
  3. Review the confirmation message and click Reset.
  4. After saving Site Styles, your template will reset to its default styles.
Note: After saving and exiting Site Styles, this change isn't reversible.

Option 2 - Delete your site content

With this option, you can:

  • Delete all pages and content
  • Restart with the same template
  • Keep your style setting
  • Keep your subscription

To remove content from your site:

  1. In the Home Menu, click Pages.
  2. To delete a page, hover over the page and click the trash can icon. (You can also disable a page to hide it from visitors.)
  3. To remove content from page settings, such as a page title, click gear-icon.
  4. To remove content from a page, click the page in the Pages panel, then hover over the site preview and click Edit to edit content areas on the page.

To rebuild your pages with new pre-built layouts:

  1. Click Edit on the page, then click + above or below any section.
  2. Click a section category and select a layout.
  3. After adding and editing content, hover over Done and click Save.

Here are some of our guides for editing specific areas of your site:

To remove content from your site:

  1. In the Home Menu, click Pages.
  2. To delete a page, hover over the page and click the trash can icon. (You can also disable a page to hide it from visitors.)
  3. To remove content from page settings, such as a page title or description, click gear-icon.
  4. To remove content from a page, click the page in the Pages panel, then hover over the site preview and click Edit to edit content areas on the page.

Here are some of our guides for editing specific areas of your site:

Option 3 - Redesign your site

With this option, you can:

  • Try new page structures and designs for your site
  • Keep your subscription

Add pages or sections with pre-built layouts to keep your existing content and style settings while trying out a variety of other structures or designs for your site.

Each layout includes demo blocks arranged in different ways. After your find one that works for your needs, you can replace the demo content with your own.

To add a pre-built page:

  1. In the Home Menu, click Pages, then click +.
  2. Click Page Layouts, then click a layout type, like Contact, Services, or Team.
  3. Browse the available layouts and select the one best for you.

To add a pre-built section:

  1. In the Home Menu, click Pages, then click the page where you want to add the section.
  2. Click Edit, then click + on the page.
  3. Click a section type, like Images, Newsletter, or Music.
  4. Browse the available layouts and select the one best for you.

If you're adding a pre-built section to an existing page, you can move blocks from your current sections to the new section. It's not possible to move blocks between pages.

To try a new structure, style, or template-specific feature on a version 7.0 site, you can switch templates. You'll be able to preview the new template and experiment with its style options before making the changes live on your site.

When choosing templates, it can help to know about their unique features. Some templates support special options like page banners, background images, or Index Pages. Visit our list of options to see if any features stand out to you. You can also visit our template comparison charts for an overview of key options.

Switching templates preserves all pages and content, except some template-specific features like footers. See our list of what transfers. You can switch back to your old template if you don't like the new one.

Note: When previewing a template, some changes appear on your live site.

When you're ready to switch templates, visit Switching templates.

Option 4 - Start a new site

To start with an entirely blank slate, you can create a new trial and build a new site from scratch.

With this option, you can:

  • Start a new site without any content or style settings from a previous site
  • Import products from a previous site
  • Move domain and G Suite subscriptions from a previous site

Keep in mind, it's not possible to keep an existing website subscription using this method. You'll have to cancel the existing subscription and start a new one on the new site.

To start from scratch:

  1. Create a new trial.
  2. If you have products, export them from your previous site, then import them to the new site.
  3. If you have a domain subscription, you can move it to your new site. If the domain has an associated G Suite account, it moves with the domain.
  4. Copy any text and save any images from your existing site, then cancel it when you're ready.
  5. After building your new site, upgrade it to paid service.

If your old site had an annual subscription, you can fill out a refund form. Depending on the amount of time left in the subscription, you may be eligible for a prorated refund.

Was this article helpful?
82 out of 499 found this helpful