Note: While our most popular guides have been translated into Spanish, some guides are only available in English.
Starting over

There are several ways to start over with your site, depending on how much of your content and styles you want to keep. You can:

  • Start a new trial - Work on a new site while keeping your current site active. Because your content doesn't transfer automatically, this is a good option if you want to start from scratch.
  • Switch to a new template - Keep all the content of your current site, but choose a new style and structure.
  • Reset style settings - Keep all the content of your current site, but restore your template's original style settings.
  • Reinstall your template - Keep the content of your current site, but delete all changes made in the Style Editor, navigation, sidebars, and footer.
  • Delete your site content - Remove content you've added to your site, while keeping the style settings intact.

This guide goes over the steps for each option.

Watch a video

Option 1 - Start a new trial

If your current site is in trial, starting a new trial is the quickest way to start over from scratch.

If you have an active site, starting a new trial lets you work on a new site while keeping your current site live. Before you choose this option, note that it isn't possible to transfer billing subscriptions or content between sites.

To make the transition as smooth as possible, follow these steps:

  1. Start a new 14-day trial. Use the same email address for the new trial as your current site, to ensure you can move custom domains later on.
  2. Build your new site. You'll need to manually transfer any content from your current site that you want to keep. For example, re-upload images or album tracks. When copying and pasting text, we recommend you paste without formatting.
  3. When your new site is ready, upgrade it to paid service.
  4. While both sites are still active, move all custom domains to the new site.
  5. Reconnect your social accounts
  6. If you no longer need your old site, cancel its subscription so you're not paying for two sites at once.

We recommend these two optional steps:

Option 2 - Switch templates

To try a new style or template-specific feature on the same site, you can switch templates. You'll be able to preview the new template and experiment with its style options before making the changes live on your site.

Note: When previewing a template, certain changes appear on your live site.
  • All your pages and content will be preserved, except some template-specific features like footers. See our list of what transfers.
  • When choosing a new template, it can help to know about their unique features. Some templates support special options like page banners, background images, or Index Pages. Visit our list of options to see if any features stand out to you.
  • If you don't like the new template, you can switch back to your old template or test multiple templates.

When you're ready to switch templates:

  1. From the Home Menu, click Design, then Templates.
  2. Click Install New Template.
  3. Browse the templates. When you find one you like, click the Start With button.
  4. In the Templates panel, hover over the new template and click Preview. Visitors to your site won't see any style changes while the template is in preview mode.
  5. In the Pages panel, delete the demo pages and move your own pages from the Not Linked section to the Main Navigation or other navigation areas.
  6. Experiment with the options in the Style Editor to style the new template.
  7. When you're ready to publish your new site design, click Set As Live Template.

For detailed steps, visit Switching templates.

Option 3 - Reset the Style Editor

You can reset your template's style tweaks to their defaults. Fonts, background images, spacing, colors, and other styles will revert to how they appeared when you first installed the template. This won't change the content of your site.

  1. In the Home Menu, click Design, and then click Style Editor.
  2. Scroll to the bottom and click Reset Styles to Defaults.
  3. Review the confirmation message, and click Reset.
  4. After saving the Style Editor, your template will reset to its default styles.
Note: After saving the Style Editor, this change isn't reversible.

Option 4 - Reinstall your template

A more extreme version of resetting the Style Editor, you can uninstall and reinstall your template to delete all changes made in the Style Editor, navigation, sidebars, and footer. Reinstalling the template restores some of its demo content.

Note: Before you uninstall a template, ensure it isn't discontinued. If it's discontinued, you won't be able to resintall it.

Step 1 - Install a new template

To reinstall your current template, you'll need to temporarily install a different template.

Note: This template will be your live template while you reset your other template. If your site isn't password-protected, visitors will see the temporary template's demo content while you're completing this process.
  1. In the Home Menu, click Design, and then click Template.
  2. Click Install New Template.
  3. Click any template you want, then click the Start With button.
  4. In the Templates panel, hover over the temporary template and click Preview.
  5. In the banner at the bottom of your site, click Set as Live Template.
  6. Click Confirm in the message that appears.

Step 2 - Reinstall your old template

  1. Hover over the original template and click Uninstall, then click Confirm.
  2. Click Install New Template again.
  3. Select the original template again.
  4. Click the Start With button.
  5. In the Templates panel, hover over the template and click Preview, then Set as Live Template.

The template will now be live with its original style settings and demo content. Go to the Pages panel to:

  • Delete the demo content
  • Delete or move your old pages, which are now in the Not Linked section

Option 5 - Delete your site content

To remove content from your site:

  1. From the Home Menu, click Pages.
  2. To delete a page, hover over the page and click the trash can icon. (You can also disable a page to hide it from visitors.)
  3. To remove content from Page Settings, such as a page title or description, click the gear icon.
  4. To remove content from a page, click the page in the Pages panel and then use the annotations in the site preview to edit the page.

Here are some of our guides for editing specific areas of your site:

Was this article helpful?
30 out of 88 found this helpful