Note: While our most popular guides have been translated into Spanish, some guides are only available in English.
Cancelling a website subscription

You can cancel your subscription at any time. You have two options for cancelling:

  • Disabling auto-renew sets your site to expire at the end of your current billing cycle. Your site will remain online until then.
  • Cancelling your subscription takes your site offline immediately.

Before you cancel

While you can cancel your subscription at any time, we recommend these steps for a smooth transition:

  • Export your content so you can import it to a new site.
  • Review custom domains connected to your site. Squarespace Domains won't automatically expire if you cancel site service.
  • If you have a G Suite by Google account through Squarespace, review your subscription. You can cancel it separately or transfer ownership to Google.
  • If your site has a linked Squarespace Domain or G Suite subscription, it will turn into a parking page after cancelling. You can use this page to log in and manage your subscriptions, similar to an expired site.

Make your site private instead

To temporarily unpublish or hide your site, we suggest continuing your subscription and setting a site-wide password instead of cancelling your subscription.

Refunds

  • Full refunds will automatically be issued for annual website subscriptions canceled within 14 days of the first payment.
  • We don't offer refunds after 14 days following the first payment.
  • We don't offer refunds for renewal payments.
  • We don't offer refunds for monthly plans. 

Option 1 - Disable auto-renew

This option sets your subscription to expire at the end of your current billing cycle.

  1. In the Home Menu, click Settings, and then click Billing & Account.
  2. Click Billing.
  3. Under Subscriptions, click Website.
  4. Uncheck Auto-Renew.
  5. Click Save to confirm.

To learn more, visit Subscription auto-renewals.

Option 2 - Cancel your subscription

This option cancels your subscription immediately.

  1. In the Home Menu, click Settings, and then click Billing & Account.
  2. Click Billing.
  3. Under Subscriptions, click Website.

choose_website.png

  1. Click Cancel Website Subscription.

click_cancel_website_subscription.png

  1. Select your reason for cancelling your subscription from the drop-down menu. We'd like to hear about your experience with Squarespace. If you don't want to provide a reason, click Skip.

If you don’t have continuing subscriptions

If your site has no additional paid subscriptions for Squarespace Domains or G Suite, click Cancel Site Subscription.

cancel_site_subscription.jpg

If you have continuing subscriptions

If you have active subscriptions attached to your site, you’ll see a Your Other Subscriptions panel where you can review them. These subscriptions won’t be cancelled automatically. You can keep them active and manage them through your site or cancel them later.

Review these subscriptions, then click Continue.

Click Cancel Site Subscription.

cancel_site_subscription.jpg

Until you cancel your domain or G Suite subscriptions, your cancelled site is a parking page. You can log in to continue managing your Squarespace Domains or G Suite subscriptions.

Note: If you don't want to continue managing subscriptions through Squarespace, you can cancel G Suite, move your domain to another Squarespace site, or transfer your domain to another host.

Cancel a trial

Trial subscriptions expire automatically at the end of the trial period. You can start another trial using the same member account at any time.

To cancel your trial before it automatically expires:

  1. In the Home Menu, click Settings, and then click Billing & Account.
  2. Click Billing.
  3. Click Cancel Trial.
  4. Select your reason for cancelling from the drop-down menu. We'd like to hear about your experience with Squarespace. If you don't want to provide a reason, click Skip.
  5. Click Cancel Trial.

FAQ

If I cancel a site subscription, what should I do with my custom domain?

For domains you registered through Squarespace, you have a few options:

  • Continue managing your domain through Squarespace and keep it as a parking page. You can add a site to your domain again at any time.
  • Move your domain to another Squarespace site.
  • Transfer your domain to a new provider.

For domains you purchased elsewhere and connected to your site, take them with you by unlinking them and changing settings in your provider's account.

To learn more, visit What to do with your domain if you leave Squarespace.

If I cancel a site subscription, what happens to my G Suite subscription?

Cancelling your site subscription won't automatically cancel your G Suite account. If you cancel a site subscription that has a G Suite subscription, you'll continue to be billed for G Suite through Squarespace.

Even when the subscription is cancelled, you can still log into your site to manage your G Suite account from the Email panel. To cancel your G Suite subscription separately, visit Cancelling your G Suite account.

Will my site appear in search engine search results after I cancel?

After you cancel your site subscription, your site won't be indexed further because it won’t be public. If you don't move your site to another provider, it will eventually disappear from search results. Note that this takes time, and timing can vary based on each search engine’s indexing activity. Squarespace has no control over removing your site from any search engine’s search results after you cancel your subscription.

If you move your site to another provider, a search engine might index the new content once the site is active.

Will Squarespace keep my site content in case I come back?

When a subscription is canceled or expires, or your trial expires, your site will be offline. However, we won’t immediately mark your site for deletion. If you recently cancelled your site or if it recently expired, you may be able to recover its content.

You can also permanently delete your site and its content. To learn more, visit Deleting your site and content.

What happens if I disable auto-renew?

Your site will be active until the date your subscription ends. At that point, your subscription will expire.

What’s the difference between cancelling a subscription and deleting a site?

Cancelling a subscription takes your site offline and stops your subscription payments. When your site is cancelled, it won’t immediately be marked for permanent deletion. If your subscription was cancelled recently, you might be able to recover its content, depending on how long it’s been since it was cancelled.

Deleting a site marks its content for permanent deletion. Only expired or cancelled sites can be deleted.

Can I reactivate my site after I cancel my subscription?

Yes. To reactivate your site, follow this guide.

 

Was this article helpful?
42 out of 139 found this helpful
Cancelling a website subscription