Note: While our most popular guides have been translated into Spanish, some guides are only available in English.
Cancelling a Squarespace Domain

If you have a custom Squarespace Domain and no longer need it, you can either cancel or disable it. Your options depend on when you registered the domain:

  • If you registered the domain within the past five days, you can completely cancel it.
  • After five days of registration, you can disable auto-renew. This sets the domain to expire at its next billing date. You can fully disconnect the domain by editing its DNS settings.

To learn more about the life cycle and schedule for our domains, visit Squarespace Domain renewals and expiration.

Before you begin

First set a new primary domain

Your primary domain, the main address for your site, can't be removed until you select a different domain to use as your primary.

If you don't have other custom domains, pick your built-in domain (yourname.squarespace.com). You can always change your primary domain again later.

Tip: After setting a new primary domain, you might want to keep the other domain active, at least for a while, instead of cancelling it. This gives visitors time to learn about your new address. Even if the domain has an error or is outdated, it can be helpful to let it continue redirecting traffic to your site. Your new primary domain will always appear in the browser address bar, even when visitors use the old domain to access your site. For example, Facebook’s original brand name was "The Facebook," and its domain was once "www.thefacebook.com." They still have this domain—it just redirects to "www.facebook.com."

Other options

To keep your domain but use it elsewhere, move it to a different Squarespace site or transfer it to a new host instead.

Refund policy

If you cancel your domain within five days, you'll receive a full refund. We don't offer refunds after this five-day grace period.

Note: Ensure you no longer need the domain. If you cancel your domain or let it expire, someone else can register it. If you try to register it again, they could charge you a higher fee.

Cancel the domain

If you registered your domain within the last five days, you can cancel the domain:

  1. Open the Domains panel. Depending on your plan: In the Home Menu, click Settings, and then click Domains, or in the Home Menu, click Domains. You can also press the ? key while any panel is open and search domains.
  2. Click the domain you'd like to cancel.
  3. Scroll down and click Cancel Domain.
Note: If you don't see this button, it means the five-day grace period for cancellation has passed. To remove this domain, you'll need to disable auto-renew.

After you cancel:

  • In most cases, your domain will stop connecting to your site within an hour, though it may take up to 72 hours to process.
  • If you paid for the domain, you’ll receive a refund for the full amount of the annual fee.
  • If you registered the domain as part of our free offer, you can register a new free domain. This is helpful if you need to rename the domain.

Disable auto-renew

If you've had the domain for more than five days, you can disable auto-renew so it expires at what would be its next billing date. Until that date, the domain will continue pointing to your site.

Note: If your free domain expires, you'll need to convert it to a paid domain to reactivate it. It's not possible to register more than one free domain per site.
  1. In the Home Menu, click Settings, and then click Billing & Account.
  2. Scroll down to Subscriptions.
  3. Click Domains.
  4. Click the domain you’d like to cancel.
  5. Scroll down and uncheck Auto-renew.

After following these steps, you can disconnect it from your site by removing its DNS records. Find steps for this below.

Disconnect the domain (optional)

After disabling auto-renew, you can also disconnect it from your site in Advanced DNS Settings.

Note: Removing these DNS records stops your domain from directing to your primary domain or any other site. Only proceed with this step if you’re sure you don’t need this domain.
  1. Open Advanced DNS Settings for your domain.
  2. Hover over the Website Defaults records.
  3. Click the red trashcan icon to the right of the records.
  4. In most cases, your domain will stop connecting to your site within an hour, though it may take up to 72 hours to process.
Note: If the Website Defaults section is empty, check for other records with www, *, or @ in the Host column. Delete those records instead.

 

Was this article helpful?
21 out of 55 found this helpful
Cancelling a Squarespace Domain