Cancel an eligible domain within five days of registration for a full refund.
You can’t cancel a domain if it was registered or transferred more than five days ago. Instead, disable the domain’s auto-renew option and wait for it to expire at its next charge date. We can’t remove a domain from your site until it expires. If you don’t want the domain to load during this time, disconnect it by removing its DNS records.
To learn more about the life cycle and schedule for our domains, visit Squarespace domain renewals and expiration.
Before you begin
Note these details when preparing to cancel your domain:
- If you have a Google Workspace account attached to the domain, canceling the domain will disrupt your email service.
- To keep your domain but use it elsewhere, move it to a different Squarespace site or transfer it to a new host instead.
- If you transferred a domain to Squarespace, you can cancel the transfer before it's complete. After the domain is fully transferred, it can't be canceled immediately. Instead, you can disable auto-renew before the next billing date.
- If you're keeping your site, set a new primary domain before canceling your domain. If you don't have any other custom domains, your site will default to your built-in domain (yourname.squarespace.com).
- If you're canceling the only domain on a parking page and you don't have any other active subscriptions, this process will remove your parking page.
- If you cancel a legacy domain and want to purchase it again later, the domain's price will change. We list the prices for domains on the domain name search page and in your site's Domains panel.
Tip: To give your visitors time to learn your new domain, set a primary domain and disable auto-renew on the domain you no longer want. This helps direct traffic to your site, while your new primary domain appears in the browser bar.
Cancel the domain
If you registered your domain within the last five days, you can cancel the domain immediately. We measure this five-day grace period to the minute. For example, if you registered a domain at 8:00am on January 1, you can cancel until January 6 at 7:59 AM.
Tip: Ensure you no longer need the domain. If you cancel your domain or let it expire, there's no guarantee you can purchase it again, or that it will be available for the same price.
To cancel the domain immediately:
- Open the Domains panel.
- Click the domain you'd like to cancel.
- Click ..., then click Cancel Domain.
Note: If Cancel Domain doesn't appear, you might not be able to cancel the domain immediately because:
- The five-day grace period for cancellation passed.
- You registered a country code top-level domain (ccTLD) such as .com.au or .de, which doesn't have a cancellation grace period. To learn more, review your domain's specific rules and features.
In either situation, you can disable auto-renew to cancel the domain.
After canceling the domain:
- Usually your domain will stop connecting to your site within an hour, though it may take up to 72 hours to process.
- If you paid for the domain, you’ll receive a refund for the full amount of the annual fee. Refunds may take 3 to 10 business days to process.
- If you registered the domain as part of our free offer, you can register a new free domain. This is helpful if you need to rename the domain.
If you've had the domain for more than five days, you can disable auto-renew so it expires at what would be its next charge date. Until that date, the domain will continue to point to your site.
Note: If your free domain expires, you'll need to convert it to a paid domain to reactivate it. It's not possible to register more than one free domain per site.
Tip: For help canceling a domain linked to parking page, visit Starting with a new domain and parking page.
- Open the Domains panel.
- Click the domain you’d like to cancel.
- Switch the Auto-renew toggle off.
After following these steps, you can disconnect it from your site by removing its DNS records. Review the next step for details.
Disconnect the domain (optional)
After disabling auto-renew, you can also disconnect it from your site in the DNS settings panel.
Tip: Removing these DNS records stops your domain from directing to your primary domain or any other site. Only proceed with this step if you’re sure you don’t need this domain.
To disconnect the domain:
- Open DNS settings for your domain.
- In the Squarespace Defaults section, click the red trash can.
- If the Squarespace Defaults section isn't listed, check for other records with www, *, or @ in the Host column and delete those records.
- Usually, your domain stops connecting to your site within an hour, though it may take up to 72 hours to process.
If you cancel your domain within five days of the initial purchase, you'll receive a full refund. We don't offer refunds after this five-day grace period.
To learn more about refunds, visit Refund policies.