Note: While our most popular guides have been translated into Spanish, some guides are only available in English.
Changing your billing plan

You can change your Squarespace plan and cycle at any time. This guide covers changing your plan and how frequently you’re billed for service (monthly or annually).

Before you begin

  • Only site owners and contributors with Admin or Billing permissions can make these changes.
  • If your site exceeds limits for contributors, you may need to remove contributors when downgrading.
  • To change your plan and billing cycle, change your plan first, save your changes, and then return to the Billing panel to change your billing cycle. You can't change your plan and billing cycle at the same time.
  • If your site is past due, update your billing credit card before changing your plan.
  • If you have a free legacy domain, review what will happen to your domain before making any changes to your billing cycle.
Note: When you change your billing cycle, your billing date will change. You’ll be refunded or charged the prorated difference. Any refunds will process in 3 to 10 business days depending on your bank.

Downgrading

If you’re on a Business or Commerce plan and change to the Personal plan, Premium features will no longer be available on your site. When you select the plan, you’ll see a message reminding you that you’ll lose these features.

  • Premium blocks will disappear from your live site. You'll still see them when you're logged in.
  • Commerce features will be disabled. You won't be able to sell products, take donations, or process orders.
  • Code Injection will be disabled. The code will remain in the Code Injection panel for your reference, but you won't be able to edit it.
  • If Developer Mode was activated before you downgraded, it will remain on, but you won't be able to edit the code.

You can switch back to a Business or Commerce plan at any time to regain full access to these features.

Switch between billing plans

Note: To use a different card to pay for a plan change, first enter the new card and then follow the steps below.
  1. Click this link to open your Account Dashboard.
  2. Click the site you want to change to open it.
  3. In the Home Menu, click Settings, click Billing & Account, and then click Billing.
  4. Click Website or Store under Subscriptions.
  5. Click Change Plan.
  6. Choose a new plan. To learn more about each plan, visit Choosing the right Squarespace billing plan.
  7. Click Confirm Plan Change.

Change your billing cycle

To switch to annual or monthly billing:

  1. Click this link to open your Account Dashboard.
  2. Click the site you want to change to open it.
  3. In the Home Menu, click Settings, click Billing & Account, and then click Billing.
  4. Click Website or Store under Subscriptions.
  5. Click Change Billing Cycle.
  6. Select Annual or Monthly from the Billing Cycle options.
  7. Click Change Cycle.

Refunds or charges

If you switched to monthly billing

If you switched from annual to monthly billing, you’ll start a new billing cycle. The invoice will be based on the cost of the monthly plan subtracted from the cost of the unused time on the annual plan.

In most cases, this will be a refund, which will take from 3 to 10 business days to process. However, if you have less than one month left on an annual term when switching to monthly billing, you'll be charged a prorated amount depending on the plan.

If you switched to annual billing

If you switched from monthly to annual billing, you’ll start a new billing cycle. The invoice will be based on the cost of the unused time from the month subtracted from the cost of the annual plan.

If you downgraded your plan

If you downgraded your plan, you’ll be refunded the prorated difference between the two plans based on the remaining time in your billing cycle. Your billing cycle and renewal date won't change.

If you upgraded your plan

If you upgraded your plan, you’ll be charged the prorated difference between the two plans based on the remaining time in your billing cycle. Your billing cycle and renewal date won't change.

Review your renewal status

When you change your billing plan or cycle, your subscription will be set to renew automatically. If you don’t want your subscription to renew, disable auto-renew every time you change your plan.

What happens to your Squarespace domain

For Squarespace domains you purchased

If you purchased a domain through Squarespace and switched from annual to monthly billing, the domain will remain on its own annual billing cycle. You can review your domain's renewal date in the Domains panel.

For your free Squarespace domain

If you registered a legacy domain through Squarespace and switch to monthly billing, check Renew my domain to keep the domain registered. It'll convert to a paid domain, renewing for $20 annually. Once you renew the domain, it can't be made free again.

If you no longer want the domain, leave Renew my domain unchecked when you switch to monthly billing to let the domain expire at the end of its current billing cycle.

Was this article helpful?
63 out of 236 found this helpful