Note: While our most popular guides have been translated into Spanish, some guides are only available in English.

Changing your Member Areas billing plan

You can change your Member Areas billing plan and cycle at any time. This guide covers changing your pricing plan and how frequently you're billed for service (monthly or annually).

Site owners and contributors with Admin or Billing permissions can make these changes.
Tip: All Squarespace subscriptions are independent from each other, and each payment has its own billing cycle and invoice. Learn more in Checking your billing subscriptions.

Before you begin

  • We charge the same card for all Squarespace subscriptions. To change this card before subscribing to Member Areas, first update the card on file in the Billing panel of your website, then follow the steps in this guide.
  • To change your plan and billing cycle, change your plan first, and then return to the Billing panel to change your billing cycle. You can't change your plan and billing cycle at the same time.
  • If your Member Areas subscription is past due, update your card on file first.
  • You can't move a Member Areas subscription to a different site.
Note: When you change your plan or billing cycle, you may be refunded or charged the prorated difference. Any refunds will process in 3 to 10 business days depending on your bank.

Change your billing plan

To change your Member Areas billing plan:

  1. In the Home menu, click Settings.
  2. Click Billing & account, then click Billing.
  3. Under Subscriptions, click Member Areas.
  4. Beside the name of your current billing plan, click Change.
  5. Choose a plan.
  6. Review the plan change details, including any charges.
  7. Confirm the change.

If you're downgrading your plan, set up your member areas to match the limitations of the plan you're downgrading to before switching. For example, if you're currently on a Core pricing plan and have created and sold memberships to three member areas on your site, you'll need to delete two of the member areas before downgrading to a Starter plan.

Change your billing cycle

To switch to annual or monthly billing:

  1. In the Home menu, click Settings
  2. Click Billing & account, then click Billing.
  3. Under Subscriptions, click Member Areas.
  4. Beside your current billing cycle (Pay monthly or Pay annually), click Change.
  5. Click Annually or Monthly.
  6. Click Confirm cycle change.

Refunds or charges

When you change your plan or billing cycle, you may be refunded or charged the prorated difference. Any refunds will process in 3 to 10 business days depending on your bank.

If you switched to monthly billing

If you switched from annual to monthly billing, you’ll start a new billing cycle. The invoice will be based on the cost of the monthly plan subtracted from the cost of the unused time on the annual plan.

Usually, this will be a refund, which takes 3 to 10 business days to process. However, if you have less than one month left on an annual term when switching to monthly billing, you'll be charged a prorated amount depending on the plan.

If you switched to annual billing

If you switched from monthly to annual billing, you’ll start a new billing cycle. The invoice will be a prorated charge based on the cost of the unused time from the month subtracted from the cost of the annual plan.

Downgrade your plan

If you downgrade your plan, you’ll be refunded the prorated difference between the two plans based on the remaining time in your billing cycle. Your billing cycle and renewal date won’t change.

Upgrade your plan

If you upgraded your plan, you’ll be charged the prorated difference between the two plans based on the remaining time in your billing cycle. Your billing cycle and renewal date won’t change.

Was this article helpful?
8 out of 20 found this helpful
Changing your Member Areas billing plan