Note: While our most popular guides have been translated into Spanish, some guides are only available in English.
Publishing or hiding your site

Use Site Visibility to control who sees your site. You can make your site private to hide it from all visitors and search engines, add a password to make it accessible to some visitors, or make it public when the site is ready for everyone.

This guide reviews the different site visibility options and how they appear to your visitors.

Before you begin

Watch a video

Open Site Visibility Settings

To change your site’s visibility:

  1. In the Home Menu, click Settings.
  2. Click Site Visibility.
  3. Select Public, Password Protected, or Private.
  4. Click Save.
Tip: The Public option appears after the site is on a paid subscription.

site visibility settings

Site visibility options

Public

When your site is public, all visitors can access your site from any connected domain and the site is accessible to search engines. Use this setting when you’ve upgraded to a paid site and you’re ready to publish your site.

After your site is live:

Password protected

When your site is password-protected, visitors see a prompt to enter the password. You can use this setting on trial or paid sites.

To learn more, visit Using a site-wide password and Accessing and sharing a trial.

lock screen

Private

When your site is private, only site owners and contributors with login permissions can see it. Other visitors see the owner login page. It can be helpful to set your site to Private if you’re still building your site, or if you need to temporarily hide your site while you change the content.

Note: If your site was previously public, making it private prevents search engines from indexing it further. This means that search engines may have already indexed your site while it was public, and your content could appear in search results.
  • Available for trial and paid sites. All trial sites are set to Private by default.
  • You can set your visibility back to Private at any time.
  • To keep your site hidden from search engines, but accessible to certain visitors, set up a site-wide password instead of setting to Private.
  • To only hide certain pages, visit Controlling who can see your site's pages.

While your site is private, visitors see a “Private Site” message when they visit your domain:

private site message

When you’re logged into a private site, you’ll see a banner at the bottom of the screen confirming that your site isn't public. Click Publish Your Site to quickly jump to your site visibility settings.

internal private site message

Unpublish your site

If you don’t need your site, or if you want to hide it for awhile, you have a few different options:

Was this article helpful?
8 out of 31 found this helpful
Publishing or hiding your site