Note: While our most popular guides have been translated into Spanish, some guides are only available in English.
Cancelling your G Suite account

If you cancel your G Suite by Google service with Squarespace, we’ll transfer your G Suite account to Google. At that point, you can continue service with Google or completely cancel your account through your G Suite Admin Console. We’ll no longer bill you for G Suite.

Note: Please don’t cancel if you’re having trouble with setup. We strongly recommend contacting us first. See the next section for important details.
Note: To remove a single email address (user) without deleting your account, visit Deleting a G Suite user.

Contact us first. We’re here to help.

If you’re having trouble with setup, please don’t cancel. Cancelling won’t allow you to start over to solve the problem. You won't be able to reinstate G Suite service on your domain through Squarespace.

We can resolve any issues with G Suite and ensure you’re set up for success with email. Open a ticket, or visit Troubleshooting G Suite.

Transfer your account to Google

In some cases, you may want to manage billing for your G Suite account with Google directly rather than managing the billing through your Squarespace site. In Squarespace, cancelling your G Suite account and transferring to Google are the same process. Cancelling your G Suite with Squarespace automatically transfers it to Google, where you can reestablish billing if you want to continue using G Suite. 

Google may also refer to this process as ending the reseller relationship. Since we're a reseller of G Suite, cancelling in Squarespace and transferring to Google effectively ends our connection to the G Suite account.

If you cancel, note these billing details

  • You won’t be able to redeem the free year offer on another domain.
  • You won’t be able to reinstate G Suite service for this domain through Squarespace.

If you're billed monthly for G Suite:

  • You won't receive a refund. For more details, visit Refund policies.
  • You’ll forfeit the free year offer included with an upgrade to a Business or Commerce plan.
  • Your G Suite account will convert to a 30-day trial with Google.

If you're billed annually for G Suite:

  • You'll only receive a refund if you cancel during the 15-day renewal window, but not after an initial signup payment or after the 15-day renewal window. For more details, visit Refund policies.
  • Your G Suite account will stay active with Google until the end of your current billing cycle unless you cancel during the 15-day renewal window.

Cancel your account

After reading the information above, follow these steps to cancel your G Suite account, which transfers your account to Google.

Note: To continue managing your G Suite account within Squarespace until the end of your billing cycle, disable Auto-renew instead of cancelling.

If your G Suite subscription is attached to a Cover Page, Website, or Commerce store:

  1. In the Home Menu, click Settings, click Billing & Account, and then click Billing.
  2. Under your list of subscriptions, click G Suite.
  3. Click Cancel G Suite.
  4. In the next panel, click Cancel.
  5. Confirm the cancellation.

If your G Suite subscription is attached to a parking page:

  1. In the Home Menu, click Email, and then click Billing & Account.
  2. Click Cancel G Suite.
  3. In the next panel, click Cancel.
  4. Confirm the cancellation.

Next steps

Note: After cancelling your subscription in Squarespace, we can no longer help with G Suite. Consult Google's documentation for any of the following actions.

To take next steps, log into your G Suite Admin Console:
https://admin.google.com/a/yourdomain.tld (replacing yourdomain.tld with your domain). 

Depending on what you want to do, you can:

  • Set up billing with Google to ensure uninterrupted service
  • Upgrade to another G Suite plan
  • Completely cancel your account

FAQ

Will cancelling my Squarespace site cancel my G Suite subscription?

No. Billing for G Suite is handled separately. If you cancel your site, we’ll continue to renew your G Suite subscription using the credit card on file.

Will cancelling my G Suite in Squarespace delete emails, contacts, or other content from my inbox?

No. Cancelling your G Suite in Squarespace transfers the billing aspects of the account to Google, but it doesn’t affect the content in your inbox. All emails, contacts, and other content remains intact after cancelling G Suite in Squarespace.

I see a "Failed to Cancel G Suite" message.

You'll see this message in your Billing panel if you don't have any Administrators in your G Suite account. To resolve this, set one or more of your G Suite users as an Administrator.

  1. In the Home Menu, click Settings, and then click Email & G Suite.
  2. Click a user.
  3. Check the Administrator option to give this user full administrative access on the G Suite account. 
  4. Click Save.

You should now be able to cancel your G Suite account from the Billing panel.

Note that G Suite user levels are separate from Squarespace permission levels. A Squarespace user with Owner or Administrator permissions won't automatically have G Suite Administrator privileges.

How do I cancel an existing G Suite account so I can sign up in Squarespace?

During signup, if you see the error message Failed to register for G Suite - A G Suite account already exists on this domain, visit our Troubleshooting G Suite to learn more.

You won’t be able to cancel the existing account following the steps here, as the existing G Suite account may be hosted with G Suite directly or another reseller.

Was this article helpful?
15 out of 84 found this helpful