Note: While our most popular guides have been translated into Spanish, some guides are only available in English.
Previewing a page

As you edit a page, your changes show in the preview on the right side of your screen. This enables you to see your updates without constantly logging in and out or switching between editing and previewing. 

Depending on your needs, this preview might not be enough. For example, if your screen or browser window is small, the preview will show how your site appears on mobile devices instead of a desktop.

This guide shows you all of the ways you can preview your site as you edit it.

Full preview 

To expand the preview and hide the editing panels, hover over the top-left corner and click the arrow, or press the Esc key on your keyboard.

Benefits:

  • Displays a full-screen preview
  • Hides edit annotations
  • Displays page slugs  your browser address bar
Tip: The arrow won't appear while you're in the Style Editor. Exit the Style Editor to enter full preview, or temporarily zoom out.

To go back to editing your site, click the arrow again. 

exit-full-preview.gif

Incognito mode

To see your site exactly as your visitors see it, visit your site in Incognito mode. This can help if your site has embedded code, which may not display to you when you're logged in.

Device View

Preview how your site appears on smartphones and tablets with Device View.

Zoom out (advanced)

Most browsers give you the option to zoom in or out on a page. Zooming out is a quick way to see what your site looks like in wider browsers. It's particularly useful while in the Style Editor, so you don't have to exit the Style Editor to enter full preview.

In most browsers, you can press Ctrl (Command on a Mac) with the + and - keys to zoom in or out. If this doesn't work, do a web search for zoom and your browser's name and version.

Note: Editing in Squarespace is only supported at 100% zoom. To avoid display and editing issues, always set your browser back to 100%/Actual Size.

Preview changes before visitors can see them

In most cases, pressing Save on any change updates your live site immediately. Here are some ways to create content without visitors seeing it right away:

Was this article helpful?
19 out of 42 found this helpful