Note: While our most popular guides have been translated into Spanish, some guides are only available in English.
Deleting pages or blog posts

You can remove pages and blog posts from your site in a variety of ways, then delete them permanently by emptying the corresponding trash cans.

Watch a video

Before you begin

Pages

  • Deleted pages are kept in the Pages panel's trash can for 30 days. To learn more, visit Restoring deleted pages.
  • If you think you'll need the page later, you have other options besides deleting it. To keep it accessible to visitors but remove it from navigation menus, move it to the Not Linked section. Alternatively, you can disable the page to hide it from visitors without deleting it.
  • Deleting a page removes all content on the page.
  • Deleting a folder removes all pages within the folder.
  • It isn't possible to create a new page using the same URL slug as a page in the trash can.
  • After deleting a page, you can create a URL redirect to prevent visitors from getting a "404 Page not found" error when they visit its URL.
  • To delete the homepage, first set a new homepage, then follow the steps in this guide.

Posts

  • Deleted blog posts are kept in the Blog Page's trash can for 30 days. To learn more, visit Restoring deleted blog posts.
  • If you think you'll need the post later, unpublish it temporarily instead by setting it back to a draft.
  • It isn't possible to create a new post using the same URL slug as a post in the trash can.
  • After deleting a post, you can create a URL redirect to prevent visitors from getting a "404 Page not found" error when they visit its URL.

Delete a page

Option 1 - Pages panel or tab

To delete a page in the Pages panel or tab:

  1. In the Home Menu, click Pages.
  2. Hover over the page you want to remove and click the trash can icon.

Trash can icon in the Pages panel.

  1. Click Confirm.
  1. Tap the Pages icon.
  2. Swipe left on the title of the page you want to delete.
  3. Tap Delete.

Option 2 - Page Settings

To delete a page in Page Settings:

  1. In the Home Menu, click Pages.
  2. Hover over the page you want to remove and click the gear icon .

Gear icon in the Pages panel.

  1. Click Delete.
  2. Click Confirm.
  1. Tap the Pages icon.
  2. Tap the title of the page you want to delete.
  3. Tap the ... icon or  in the top-right corner.
  4. Tap Delete Page, then tap Confirm.

Delete a blog post

To delete a blog post:

  1. In the Home Menu, click Pages.
  2. Click the Blog Page containing the post you want to delete.
  3. Hover over the post and click Delete.
  4. Click Confirm in the message that appears.

Delete multiple posts

To delete multiple blog posts, press and hold Ctrl (Command on a Mac) while clicking each blog post. Then click Remove.

Tip: To remove a series of blog posts, click the first blog post, press and hold Shift, click the last blog post, then click Remove.
  1. Tap the Pages icon.
  2. Tap the title of your Blog Page.
  3. Swipe left on the title of the page you want to delete.
  4. Tap Delete, then tap OK to confirm.

Empty trash cans

When you delete a page or blog post, it's sent to a trash can. Trash cans permanently delete items after 30 days. To delete content before then, empty the trash can. After you empty a trash can, that content can't be restored.

To empty a trash can:

  1. After deleting a page or blog post, the trash can icon will appear at the bottom of its panel. Click the icon to open it.
  2. Click Empty Trash. This action can't be undone.
  3. Click Confirm in the message that appears.
Tip: Currently, it's not possible to empty Blog Page trash cans on the Squarespace App. Follow these steps to empty the Pages trash can.
  1. Tap the Pages icon.
  2. Scroll down and tap Recycle Bin under Deleted Pages.
  3. Tap Delete All in the top right corner.
  4. Tap OK in the message that appears.
Was this article helpful?
30 out of 86 found this helpful