Note: While our most popular guides have been translated into Spanish, some guides are only available in English.

Disconnecting a third-party domain

Follow these steps to disconnect a third-party domain from your site.

Before you begin

  • This guide covers disconnecting domains you purchased elsewhere. To unlink a Squarespace domain, visit Transferring a domain away from Squarespace.
  • If you're disconnecting your primary domain, first set a new primary domain.
  • If you're not sure which site your domain is connected to, check the Domains tab in your account dashboard
  • If you have a Google Workspace account linked to your third-party domain, disconnecting your domain won't cancel Google Workspace service. To completely cancel Google Workspace, follow our steps
  • If you're disconnecting a GoDaddy domain that you connected automatically, you'll need to manually disconnect the domain after following the steps in this guide. For more help, contact their support team.
  • When you delete an expired site from your account, all third-party domains connected to the site will automatically disconnect. 

Step 1 - Disconnect the domain

  1. In the Home menu, click Settings, then click Domains.
  2. Select the third-party domain to disconnect.
  3. Click Disconnect domain.
  4. Click Yes to confirm the disconnection. 

Step 2 - Edit your DNS records

Disconnecting your domain won't change its DNS records. To completely disconnect your domain from a Squarespace site, log into your domain provider account and remove the Squarespace DNS records.

The steps to edit DNS records are different for each provider and site host. Please contact your domain provider or visit their documentation for help.

Until your domain's DNS records are changed, your domain will point to Squarespace, but visitors will see an error message instead of your site.

Was this article helpful?
85 out of 303 found this helpful
Disconnecting a third-party domain