If you’re a relative of a deceased Squarespace website owner or the executor of their estate, you can request billing access to their site. With Billing permissions, you can decide to keep the site published or take it down. After we receive your request, our team will make a decision and respond after careful review.
Due to privacy concerns and restrictions, we can’t give you full administrative control or the ability to edit a site owned by a deceased customer.
If the site is on Squarespace 5, our legacy platform, we can cancel or remove the site for you, but we unfortunately can’t provide access to it.
Request billing access to the site
Fill out this form to request access. We'll ask for the following:
- Full name of the deceased person
- Site URL
- An obituary or death certificate
- Your full name
- Your email address
- Your relationship to the deceased person
- A scan of your government-issued ID or driver's license
- Legal representation documents, if you’re the executor of the estate
Our team will review the information, and we may respond with additional questions. You’ll receive an email with next steps.
What are my options?
After you receive Billing permissions, you have a few options.
Keep the site running
To keep the site published after you receive Billing permissions, update the website’s billing information to ensure the subscription remains active. The new billing credit card will be charged on future renewal dates, either monthly or annually depending on the site’s billing plan. You’ll receive emails if the subscription is interrupted.
Take the site offline
After you receive Billing permissions, you can cancel the website subscription and any active Squarespace Domains or Google Workspace subscriptions connected to the site. The site content will be removed from public view. You can also disable auto-renew, which will leave the site up until the next renewal date.
What happens if I do nothing?
If the billing credit card attached to the site is still active, the subscription may renew automatically on the next renewal date. If the card has been cancelled, or if the website owner disabled auto-renew, the subscription will expire and the site content will be marked for permanent deletion within 30 days.