Note: While our most popular guides have been translated into Spanish, some guides are only available in English.

My site is past due

If we can’t charge the card on file for your website subscription renewal, your site will become “past due.” We’ll send you an email notification and display a banner message when you log into your site, asking you to take action to update your payment information. The banner message won't be visible to your site visitors.

Your past due site remains visible to both site visitors and search engines for 15 days while we try processing the payment again. 15 days after the renewal payment was due, however, your site will go from past due to expired, and its content will be marked for permanent deletion. You can reactivate your site to resume service.

If your site is past due, follow this guide to learn what to do next.

Update your billing information

To avoid any service disruption and prevent your site from being deactivated, update your billing credit card as soon as possible. After you update your billing credit card, we'll automatically process any outstanding payments. If your credit card is valid, the payment should go through successfully, and you'll see a purchase receipt. The “past due” banner will disappear shortly.

If you're not sure why your payment wasn't processed, visit Why did my renewal payment fail?

Resubmit payment

After fixing any card or insufficient fund issues with your bank, follow these steps to try making the payment again:

  1. In the Home menu, click Settings, then click Billing & account.
  2. Click Billing.
  3. Click Retry payment.
  4. If the payment was successful, you’ll see a purchase receipt.

You can also try again by clicking Fix now in the banner at the bottom of your site when you're logged in.

Tip: If your payment processed successfully, but your site is still down, this could be related to your domain or your browser's cache.

Cancel your subscription

You can't disable auto-renew for past-due website subscriptions. If you no longer want your site, you can cancel your subscription.

After canceling, you can keep managing any other subscriptions—like Squarespace Domains, Email Campaigns, Scheduling, or Google Workspace—from the cancelled site. If your Email Campaigns or Scheduling subscriptions expire, you’ll need a website subscription to reactivate them.

FAQ

Can I have an extension?

While we can't offer extensions on an outstanding payment, we do have a 15-day, automatic grace period. Your site will expire 15 days after a payment is due. You can reactivate the expired site after you make a payment. Content may or may not be recoverable, depending on how long the site was expired.

Can I put my subscription on hold?

No. It's not possible to place your subscription on hold, but you can explore some similar options.

Can I change my billing plan?

No. It's not possible to change your billing plan or cycle while your site is past due. 

Was this article helpful?
31 out of 173 found this helpful