Note: While our most popular guides have been translated into Spanish, some guides are only available in English.
Accessing and sharing a trial

Squarespace trials are publicly accessible but are hidden behind CAPTCHAs. This means search engines can't index it, but visitors can see it while it's in progress. Since your trial site doesn't appear in search engine results, people typically won’t find it unless you intentionally share a direct link.

This guide explains how the 24-hour visitor access works for trial sites and how to visit a trial site.

To start a Squarespace trial, visit Starting a Squarespace trial.

Squarespace trial screen

Enter or share your site's URL. You can find this URL in the "Welcome to Squarespace" email we sent when you started your trial.

You'll see this screen:

Owner login

If you're a site administrator, click Owner Login.

Log in using your login credentials. If you forgot your password, visit Recovering your password.

Visitor access

Visitor access is great for sharing your trial page, site, or store with friends and family without giving them editing permissions. For security, visitor sessions start by entering a CAPTCHA and expire 24 hours after the initial login.

Visitor access can also be useful for Site Owners because it lets you view and test you site across multiple platforms as a regular visitor. 

To start a visitor session, click Visitor Access. (If your site doesn't have this, see the next section.)

Enter the CAPTCHA, and then click View Website.

My site doesn’t have a CAPTCHA

If your site is on a trial, but you don’t see a CAPTCHA when you visit the URL, your site may be part of a test group. We’re using this group to test new options for accessing and sharing a site. If you’re in a test group:

  • By default, your trial site is set to Private, meaning only site owners and contributors can see it. You have the option to add a site-wide password for visitor access.
  • Your password options are under Settings > Site Visibility instead of Settings > Security & SSL.
  • When you’re logged in, you’ll see a banner confirming that your site isn't public.
  • When you upgrade to paid service, you’ll have the option to set your site to Public.

Here's what your site visitors see while your site is in each mode:

  • Private - Visitors see the owner login page.
  • Password protected - Visitors see a prompt to enter the password.
  • Public - Visitors go directly to your site.
Was this article helpful?
182 out of 569 found this helpful