You can delete your site after cancelling your subscription or when your trial expires. This guide explains how to delete a site and what happens when you delete content from Squarespace.
What happens to deleted content?
There are different ways to delete your content. Before you delete any content from Squarespace, we recommend reviewing what happens to your deleted content.
Deleting a site marks its content for permanent deletion and stops subscription payments. Only expired or cancelled sites can be deleted.
After deleting your site:
- Your site won’t be accessible to visitors.
- Your site and its content are marked for permanent deletion.
- It may take more than 30 days for us to permanently delete the site from our system.
- We’ll remove the site from your member account.
- You won’t be able to log in to make changes.
- Third-party domains linked to your site will automatically disconnect. You can also disconnect domains manually before deleting the site.
Cancelling a subscription takes your site offline and stops your subscription payments, but it doesn’t immediately delete your content. So, if you cancelled recently, you might be able to recover your content depending on how long it’s been since you cancelled.
Deleted pages or posts
When you delete select content from a live site, like a page or blog post:
- Visitors can no longer find or see the content.
- The deleted content moves to a recycle bin, where it's accessible for approximately 30 days if you want to recover it.
- Deleted items can take more than 30 days to be permanently remove from our system.
- To permanently remove deleted items, empty the recycle bins.
- When you delete a page or post, visitors will see a 404 error when they visit its URL. To prevent this from happening, set up a URL redirect or use the same URL for a replacement page or post.
Expired trial sites
When your trial site expires, its content is marked for permanent deletion. It generally takes more than 30 days for us to remove content of a trial site from our systems, though your content isn't publicly accessible during this period.
Before you delete your entire site
- To delete a site with a paid subscription, cancel your subscription first.
- To temporarily unpublish your site instead of deleting it, set a site-wide password.
- If your site has a Squarespace Domain, it can’t be deleted until you cancel or transfer the domain.
Delete your site
Step 1 - Check your site
If you have multiple Squarespace sites in your account (including trials), confirm you’re viewing the one you want to delete.
- To switch to a different site, click your avatar at the bottom of the Home Menu.
- In your Account Dashboard, you'll see all sites and domains connected to your account.
- Under Websites, you'll see each site's thumbnail image, title, connected domains, and account status.
- Select the correct site.
Step 2 - Delete the site
- In the Home Menu, click Settings, and then click Billing & Account.
- Click Delete Site.
- Click Delete Site again in the panel that opens to confirm.
- You'll be prompted with a final warning. Click Delete Site to permanently delete your site.
- You'll see a "Site Deleted" message. Visitors to this URL will also see this message.
Restore a deleted site
If your site has expired or is past-due, or if you cancelled it yourself, you may be able to reactivate it.
To restore a site you deleted by following this guide, contact us. If your content hasn’t been permanently deleted, we may be able to restore it for you, depending on how long it’s been.