Note: While our most popular guides have been translated into Spanish, some guides are only available in English.

Managing your client list in Scheduling

Use the client list to view, manage, ban, import, and export Scheduling clients. This guide explains how to use the client list as part of a successful Scheduling setup.

View the client list

To access the client list:

  1. In Scheduling, click Clients.
  2. Scroll, search, or filter your clients.

View client profiles

Click a client’s name to view their client profile. The profile includes all of their appointments, including any associated intake forms, plus all their package, gift certificate, and subscription codes.

client profile shows name, contact info, appointmetns, form responses

Search for clients

You can search the client list by first or last name, phone, or email address. Typing a single letter brings up all clients whose last name begins with that letter. If you want to search for a phone number, we recommend searching for the last four digits only.

Filter clients

You can filter clients to bring up clients who booked recently or clients are inactive.

You can choose from a range of time periods for either view:

  • Recent clients - Have had an appointment within a certain time period. Available time periods range from 30 days to four years.
  • Old clients - Haven’t had an appointment in a certain length of time. Available lengths of time range from two weeks to two years.

To filter clients:

  1. In Scheduling, click Clients.
  2. Click change.
  3. Use the drop-down menu to select a filter.

Add clients

When clients book appointments, they’re automatically added to the client list. You can also add clients to the client list individually or by importing a spreadsheet.

Add a single client

To add one client:

  1. In Scheduling, click Clients.
  2. Click Add client.
  3. Enter the client’s information. Each client profile must include at least a first and a last name.
  4. Click Add client.

Import clients

You can add multiple clients at once by importing a .csv file. To learn more, visit Importing Scheduling appointments and clients.

Edit client profiles

To update information in a client profile:

  1. In Scheduling, click Clients.
  2. Click a client’s name to open their profile.
  3. Click Edit, then make your changes and click Save changes.

Merge client profiles

If you find duplicate entries for one of your clients, merge the two client profiles to keep your data organized. Duplicate entries can happen if client data doesn’t perfectly match, such as a misspelled first name, or a nickname used instead of a full first name.

To combine duplicate client profiles:

  1. Identify which profile has the client’s correct name and contact information.
  2. Edit the other profile so that the first and last names match the correct profile.
  3. The entries will automatically merge, and the combined listing will keep the contact information from the correct profile.

Add notes about a client

To add private notes about a client, edit the Notes about client field in their client profile. These notes are visible to you and your staff, but not to the client. Use this space to record information that you don’t want tied to any specific appointment, as intake forms are.

Delete clients

You can delete clients individually or in bulk.

Note: Deleting a client permanently deletes all of their appointments and removes them from your client list. It’s not possible to undo after deleting a client. Because this is irreversible, you’ll have to type out a word to confirm the action.

To delete an individual client:

  1. In Scheduling, click Clients.
  2. Click a client’s name to open their client profile.
  3. Click Delete, then type DELETE when prompted and click OK.

To delete multiple clients at once:

  1. In Scheduling, click Clients.
  2. Scroll to the bottom of your client list and click Bulk delete.
  3. Checkboxes will appear next to the clients’ name. Check the boxes for the clients you want to delete.
  4. Type DELETE SELECTED CLIENTS in the box provided, then click Yes, permanently delete X clients. (Scheduling will replace the X with the number of clients you’re deleting.)

Delete inactive clients

To remove inactive clients, use the steps to filter clients to show only clients who haven’t booked in your preferred time frame. Then use the steps for deleting clients in bulk to select and delete all those inactive clients.

Deleted clients that don’t disappear

If you delete clients, but notice some of them are still in your client list, they probably have packages, gift certificates, or subscriptions that are still active. If you delete these items, their client profiles will disappear. To delete any outstanding packages, gift certificates, or subscriptions:

  1. In Scheduling, click Packages, gifts & subscriptions.
  2. Click View orders, then click View order for a package, gift certificate, or subscription you want to delete.
  3. Click Delete, then click OK.
  4. Repeat Steps 1 to 3 until all of the client’s packages, gift certificates, and subscriptions are gone.

Ban clients

Banning clients prevents them from booking new appointments with the email in their client profile. To learn more about banning clients, visit Banning clients from scheduling online.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 1 found this helpful
Managing your client list in Scheduling