Add people to help you manage Scheduling by inviting them as contributors. You control their ability to access and make changes to Scheduling settings and features. This is helpful if you have staff members who need access to manage or schedule appointments, but don’t want them to make substantial changes or export information from Scheduling.
All Squarespace contributors can access the Home menu, where they can navigate to their account dashboard and other parts of Squarespace. Within Scheduling, they have limited permissions, as explained below.
Scheduling contributors with view only access can see upcoming appointments but can’t add new appointments through the Scheduling panel or change Scheduling settings.
They only see information, including clients and appointments, related to the calendars you give them access to. View only contributors can see the following panels:
- Appointment calendar - They can see appointments booked on calendars you give them access to. They can click appointments to view appointment details, but can't edit or reschedule appointments. They can view appointment labels, but can’t add or edit them.
- Clients - They can view the client list, but only see clients with at least one appointment on a calendar you’ve given them access to. They can click client names to see appointment history and other information, but can’t edit client information. If you’ve given them permission to export appointments and clients, they can export the clients they can see, but not your other clients. They can't import clients.
- Reports - Only visible if you’ve given them permission to export appointments and clients. If it’s visible, they can export appointments from calendars they can access, but can’t import appointments or view any other reports.
- Scheduling page link - They can use this section to get direct links to your scheduler and code to embed your scheduler in a website. They won’t see links or embedding information for calendars they can’t access or appointment types only offered on calendars they can’t access, and they can’t customize any of the URLs.
View & edit
As with view only contributors, contributors with view & edit access can only see information connected to the calendars you give them access to. They don’t see clients and appointments from calendars they can’t access. They can see these panels:
- Appointment calendar - They can do everything a view only contributor can, plus they can edit, reschedule, and cancel appointments. They can add labels to or remove them from appointments, but they can't create labels or delete them from the system.
- Clients - They can do everything a view only contributor can, plus they can edit client information and ban clients. They can reschedule and cancel appointments from this view. If you’ve given them permission to export appointments and clients, they can both import and export clients.
- Reports - Just as for view only contributors, this is only visible if you’ve given them permission to export appointments and clients. If it’s visible, they can export appointments, but can’t import appointments or view any other reports.
- Scheduling page link - They can do everything a contributor with view only access can do, accessing direct links and embedding information for your scheduler. As with view only contributors, they won’t see information for calendars they can’t access or appointment types only offered on calendars they can’t access.
- Availability - They can edit the hours that the calendar is available for appointments. They can also change scheduling limits and calendar settings, including changing which email addresses Scheduling notifies when clients book appointments.
- Integrations - They can connect to a limited suite of apps, including video conferencing and API connections.
- Sync with other calendars - They can connect Scheduling calendars to a third party calendar. They only see the option to connect the Scheduling calendars you’ve given them access to.
Users with administrator access can do almost everything the Scheduling owner can do, including import and export clients and appointments. They have the following limitations:
- They can’t add or remove contributors, or change their access levels.
- They can’t change the Scheduling owner.
- They can’t change Scheduling plans or cancel Scheduling.
Add a Squarespace Scheduling contributor
To invite a new contributor to Scheduling:
- In the Home menu, click Permissions, then click Invite Contributor.
- Enter the contributor’s name and email address, then use the toggle to select Scheduling View Only, Scheduling View & Edit, or Scheduling Administrator. Learn about Scheduling access levels.
- If you picked Scheduling Administrator, click Invite to send an invitation to your contributor. If you picked Scheduling View Only or Scheduling View & Edit, click Next to continue.
- Use the toggle to control whether the contributor is able to export appointments and client information from Scheduling, then use the checkboxes to choose which calendars they can access. After making your selections, click Invite to send an invitation to your contributor.
Note: After you click Invite, Squarespace will send the contributor an email, inviting them to work on Scheduling with you. After they follow the prompts to accept, they’ll be able to log in and access Scheduling.
Change a Squarespace Scheduling contributor’s access level
You can expand or reduce a contributor’s access to Scheduling after you’ve added them. To change their access:
- In the Home menu, click Permissions, then click the contributor’s name.
- Use the toggles to control their access level.
- If they have Scheduling View Only or Scheduling View & Edit access, you can click Assign & Manage Calendars to adjust which calendars they can access and whether they can export appointments and client information. Click Done after making changes to this panel.
- Click Save when you’re done making all changes.
Add staff to your Acuity Scheduling account (Acuity accounts only)
If you have an Acuity account rather than a Squarespace Scheduling account, you follow different steps to add more users to your account.
To add a new user to your Acuity account:
- Click Manage users, and then New user.
- Enter the new user’s email address and assign them a password.
- Select their access level from the Access level drop-down menu.
- Optional: Check Allow user to export clients and appointments to give the user permission to export appointments.
- If you selected view-only or view-and-edit access, use the checkboxes to adjust which calendars they can access .
- Click Add user.
- Notify the user of their new username and password. Users won’t be automatically notified when you add them.
After you’ve added users, they can manage their password and username.
Acuity access levels
Users with view only and view & edit access have the same access as Scheduling contributors at those levels.
Acuity users with admin access can do everything the account owner can do, except:
- Delete the main account.
- Edit or delete their user account.
- Change the username or password for the main account.