Note: While our most popular guides have been translated into Spanish, some guides are only available in English.

Client accounts in Scheduling

When a client books with you, they have the option to register for a client account. Client accounts enable them to track appointments, see active appointment codes, and more. This guide explains what client accounts do, how clients register for and use them, and how to remove the option for your clients.

What client accounts do

When a client creates a client account, they can:

Customers can skip certain forms that Scheduling will autofill for them:

  • Their name, phone number, and email address
  • Intake forms they’ve already filled out. Customers can update this information if necessary, but otherwise skip these forms
  • Their credit card information if they’ve chosen to store it
Tip: Clients who aren’t logged in might see their name, phone number, and email address autofill if they’re using a computer and browser they’ve already used to book an appointment.

How clients register

Clients can register by clicking Register for an account while viewing the confirmation at the end of the booking process. They need to create a password, agree to our terms of service, and acknowledge our privacy policy. Once they click Sign up, they’re ready to start using their client account.

It isn’t possible to register an account on a client’s behalf. If you’ve booked an appointment on a client’s behalf, they can click Change/Cancel Appointment in their confirmation email to reach the confirmation page, where they can register for an account.

How clients log in

If clients aren’t already logged in when they reach your scheduler, they can click Log in in the top-right corner. They'll enter their email address and password, then click Log in.

Client account limitations

You can't force clients to register for a client account or log into one when booking an appointment. Clients who’ve created client accounts can still book appointments without signing in.

We don’t offer single sign-in solutions for client accounts.

Turn client accounts on or off

The buttons clients use to register for and log into client accounts are enabled by default. To manage this setting, click Customize Appearance, then click Scheduling Page Options. Check or uncheck the box next to Disable client log in & registration, then click Save changes.

Assign appointments to client accounts

When a client logs into their account, they see all appointments that are assigned to their client account. ​​They don’t see appointments that aren’t assigned to their account, even if the appointments are associated with the same email address as their client account.

Scheduling automatically assigns an appointment to a client account when:

  • The client booked the appointment while logged into their client account
  • The client booked the appointment before creating a client account, but later created an account using the same email address; after the client verifies their account through the verification email, the appointment appears in their client account
  • You booked the appointment on behalf of the client—unless appointments tied to your client's email address are assigned to more than one client account

Scheduling doesn't assign an appointment to a client account when:

  • The client booked the appointment without logging in, even if the email address on the appointment matches the email address on the client account.
  • You booked an appointment on behalf of a client, but appointments tied to your client's email address is assigned to more than one client account

Assign appointments to client accounts manually

You can assign a single appointment to a client account, or assign many of a specific client’s appointments to their client account at the same time.

To assign a single appointment to a client account:

  1. In Scheduling, go to your appointment calendar, then ​​click the appointment to open the appointment details.
  2. Click Edit, then use the Client user drop-down menu to select a client account.
  3. Click Save.

The option to assign multiple appointments to a client account only appears if at least one of their appointments is already assigned to a client account and no more than one client account is linked to their appointments.

To assign multiple appointments to a client account:

  1. In Scheduling, click Clients.
  2. Click a client’s name, then click Assign all to client user.

How to tell if an appointment is assigned to a client account

When looking at a client’s account history, there’s a silhouette icon on appointments that are assigned to a client account.

Appointment_view_showing_client_account_silhouette.png

If you click the appointment to open the appointment details, the Client user field shows the client account.

How clients reset passwords

If a client tries to log in on your scheduler and enters incorrect information or leaves the password field blank, Scheduling shows an incorrect password alert that includes a Forgot your password? link. Clients who click the link can send a password reset email to their email address.

It isn’t possible to reset a client’s password for them.

Was this article helpful?
4 out of 8 found this helpful