This guide includes common terms you’ll see across the Squarespace Analytics panels and the Analytics mobile app.
AOV, or Average Order Value, is the average revenue earned per order, or Revenue ÷ Orders.
The number of times a visitor clicked your site’s buttons. The total includes clicks from any Button Blocks, promotional pop-up buttons, or Cover Page buttons enabled on your site.
Conv. Rate, or Conversion Rate, is a good indicator of how visitor behaviors convert into actions, such as sales or engagement. The number is calculated differently depending on the panel.
Purchase Funnel Analytics
In Purchase Funnel Analytics, Conversion Rate calculates the percentage of visits converted into orders. The formula is (Visits resulting in an order ÷ Total visits) x 100.
Sales by Product
In Sales by Product, Conversion Rate calculates the percentage of views that convert into orders. The formula is Orders that contain the product ÷ Total views of the product.
To see the full customer journey from adding a product to a cart to purchase, use the Purchase Funnel.
In the Sales panel, Conversion Rate is the percentage of visits that convert into at least one order of any size. The formula is (Visits resulting in an order ÷ Total visits) x 100.
Form & Button Conversion
In Form & Button Conversions, Conversion Rate calculates the unique views that resulted in a form submission or button click. The formula is (The number of converted unique views ÷ The number of unique views for the form or button) x 100.
Direct represents when someone typed your URL directly into their browser, rather than coming to your site from another page. You'll see this metric in the Referrers and Traffic Sources panels, and on the Traffic Sources card in the Analytics App.
If this number appears inflated, it could be because some of those visits are from you visiting your site without logging in. When you're logged in, your activity doesn’t count toward visits. However, when you're logged out, we have no way to identify that the visit is you, so those visits can count as Direct.
The number of forms submitted from your site. The total includes submissions from any Form Blocks, Newsletter Blocks, promotional pop-up newsletters, or Cover Page forms enabled on your site.
In RSS Subscribers, Individual represents specific visits to your site’s RSS feed URL. It can also include instances where we can’t detect a visitor’s specific feed reader.
KPI, or Key Performance Indicator, is a way to measure a set of data. The Analytics App uses KPIs to filter overall card data into a smaller sample.
In Search Engine Queries, Not provided represents search activity that Google and other search engines hide from third-party platforms like Squarespace to keep search more secure. Google only shares specific queries resulting in clicks on your paid search ads.
If Not provided has a high pageview count, you might infer that most of this combined search traffic is actually from Google searches. Due to Google’s search security practice, there’s no way to see what those terms are from the Squarespace interface. Instead, we recommend using Google Search Console to see more search terms visitors are using to find you.
Orders represents the total number of completed orders. Since some orders may contain multiple products, this number can be lower than Units Sold.
A record of page requests on your site. Requests for specific image URLs or other scripts don’t count toward this number—only full page loads do.
Revenue represents the total revenue value of all orders in the selected time period.
- Revenue is the sum of all subtotals and excludes costs like shipping fees and taxes.
- Discounts on subtotals are subtracted from the revenue number.
- Analytics doesn’t factor in refunds at this time.
RPV, or Revenue Per Visit, is the average revenue generated per visit (Revenue ÷ Visits). This includes visits that didn’t result in a purchase. Many companies who do paid marketing use this as a benchmark for how much to spend per visit and for measuring marketing ROI.
In RSS Subscribers, Subscribers represents the number of times an RSS feed or post within the feed was accessed in the selected time filter. It doesn’t represent the actual number of subscribers to your RSS feed.
An estimate of the total number of actual visitors that loaded the page with your button or form in the set time frame.
Note: In earlier versions of Analytics, Unique Visitors was called Audience Size.
Unique Visitors is an estimate of the total number of actual visitors that reached your site in the set time frame. This can be a good measure of your loyal audience and readership.
We track the number of Unique Visitors with a browser cookie created when someone first visits your site. This cookie lasts for two years. Every time a visitor clears their cookies or opens your site from a different browser, the Analytics App counts their first new visit toward Unique Visitors.
Units Sold represents the total number of products sold. Since some orders may contain multiple products, this number can be higher than Orders.
Note: The Analytics App for Android uses the term Units instead of Units Sold.
In Sales by Product, Views shows the number of times that visitors have opened the product details page or clicked Quick View.
Visit represents the total number of visits in a selected time.
A visit is one browsing session on your site, which could potentially include multiple pageviews. Visits are a good measure of attention on your site, as they correlate with a single browsing session and are frequently used in marketing applications.
We track visits with a browser cookie that expires after 30 minutes. Any hits within that 30-minute browsing session count as one visit. This means that one person can count as multiple visits in a day if they come to your site more than once.