Note: While our most popular guides have been translated into Spanish, some guides are only available in English.
Changing your billing plan

You can change your Squarespace plan at any time. This guide covers upgrading or downgrading your plan and changing how frequently you’re billed for service.

Before you begin

  • Only site owners and contributors with Billing permissions can make these changes. To learn more about permissions, visit Squarespace permissions explained.
  • If your site exceeds limits for contributors or pages, you may need to deactivate features when downgrading.
  • To change your plan and billing period, change your plan first, save your changes, and then return to Billing & Account to change your billing period. You can't change your plan and billing period at the same time.
  • If your site is past due, you must update your billing credit card before changing your plan.
Note: When you change your billing cycle, your billing period will change. You’ll be refunded or charged the prorated difference. Any refunds will process in 3 to 10 business days depending on your bank.

Check your site

Before making changes, check if you’re viewing the site you want to change. This step is important if you have multiple Squarespace sites (including trials) under one account. While you can access multiple sites from one account, each site’s plan is managed separately.

To switch to a different site, click your avatar at the bottom of the Home Menu. This opens a menu of all Squarespace sites connected to your account, including active, trial, and expired sites. Select the correct site from the menu.

Switch between Website and Commerce plans

Note: To use a different card to pay for an account upgrade, first enter the new card and then follow the steps below.
  1. In the Home Menu, click Settings, and then click Billing & Account.
  2. Click Billing.
  3. Click your site under Subscriptions.
  4. Click Change Plan.
  5. Choose a new plan. For help, visit Choosing the right Squarespace billing plan.
  6. Click Confirm Plan Change.

Change your billing cycle

To switch to Annual or Monthly billing:

  1. In the Home Menu, click Settings, and then click Billing & Account.
  2. Click Billing.
  3. Click your site under Subscriptions.
  4. Click Change Billing Cycle.
  5. Select Annual or Monthly from the Billing Cycle options.
  6. Click Change Cycle.

Upgrade a Cover Page

You can upgrade your Cover Page plan to a full website at anytime. It isn't possible to return to the standalone Cover Page plan after upgrading to a full site.

Note: It isn’t possible to downgrade a Website or Commerce plan to a Cover Page plan.
  1. In the Cover Page menu, click Settings.
  2. Click Billing & Account.
  3. Click Switch Products.
  4. Click Website or Commerce
  5. Select a template. You can switch templates at any time.
  6. Select a billing plan. For help, visit Choosing the right Squarespace plan.
  7. Confirm the product change.

Refunds or charges

If you switched to monthly billing

If you switched from annual to monthly billing, you’ll start a new billing cycle, and the invoice will be based on the cost of the monthly plan subtracted from the cost of the unused time on the annual plan.

In most cases, this will be a refund, which will take from 3-10 business days to process. However, if you have less than one month left on an annual term when switching to monthly billing, you'll be charged under $30, $20, or $10 depending on the plan.

Note: If you registered a Squarespace domain, we strongly recommend that you remain on an annual billing cycle to ensure uninterrupted domain service. Learn more below.

If you switched to annual billing

If you switched from monthly to annual billing, you’ll start a new billing cycle, and the invoice will be based on the cost of the unused time from the month subtracted from the cost of the yearly plan.

If you downgraded your plan

If you downgraded your plan, you’ll be refunded the prorated difference between the two plans based on the remaining time in your billing period. Your billing cycle and renewal date won't change.

If you upgraded your plan

If you upgraded your plan, you’ll be charged the prorated difference between the two plans based on the remaining time in your billing period. Your billing cycle and renewal date won't change.

Review your auto-renewal status

When you change your billing plan or cycle, your subscription will be set to renew automatically. If you don’t want your subscription to renew, disable auto-renew every time you change your plan.

What happens to your Squarespace domain

For your free Squarespace domain

If you registered a free domain through Squarespace and switch from annual to monthly billing, you have a few options:

  • Choose to renew your domain for $20 to continue using it
  • Let it expire at the end of its billing cycle

To continue using your domain when switching to a monthly plan, check Renew my domain when changing your billing plan. Once you renew the domain, it can't be made free again.

If you let your domain expire, you'll receive an email notification 30 days before the expiration date. If you switch back to an annual plan later, you can reactivate your domain for free. The domain will remain free until its initial expiration date, which you can review in the Domains panel.

Alternatively, you can transfer your domain to a third-party provider, and then connect it to your Squarespace site.

For Squarespace domains you purchased

If you purchased a domain through Squarespace and switched from annual to monthly billing, the domain will remain on its own annual billing cycle. You can review your domain's renewal date in the Domains panel.

Was this article helpful?
33 out of 117 found this helpful
Changing your billing plan