Note: While our most popular guides have been translated into Spanish, some guides are only available in English.
Cancelling a Squarespace trial

Squarespace trial sites expire automatically after 14 days, but you can cancel or delete your trial before it's over. You can also delete an expired trial.

When you cancel a trial, visitors won't be able to see it, but the site remains in your Squarespace account until our system removes it. This is a good option if you think you'll want to use the site later. 

When you delete a trial, visitors won't be able to see it and the site is removed from your Squarespace account. This is a good option if you know you won't need the site in the future.

Tip: If you started more than one trial, see our tips for managing multiple sites.

Before you begin

This guide covers how to delete individual trial sites not yet upgraded to paid service.

Cancel your trial

To cancel your trial site, but keep it visible in your account:

  1. Go to your Account Dashboard and click the trial you want to cancel.
  2. In the Home Menu, click Settings, then click Billing & Account.
  3. Click Billing.
  4. Click Cancel Trial.
  5. Select your reason for cancelling from the drop-down menu, or click Skip.
  6. Click Cancel Trial.
  7. You'll still be logged in, and you'll see a "Your website subscription has expired" message at the bottom.
  8. Visitors will see a "Website Expired" message when visiting your URL.

Delete your trial

To permanently delete your trial site and remove it from your account:

  1. Go to your Account Dashboard and click the trial you want to cancel.
  2. In the Home Menu, click Settings, then click Billing & Account.
  3. Click Delete Site.
  4. Click Delete Site again in the panel that opens to confirm.
  5. You'll be prompted with a final warning. Click Delete Site.
  6. You'll see a "Site Deleted" message. Visitors will also see this message when they visit your URL.
Tip: You can start a new trial at any time. This creates a completely new site.

What happens to content on deleted or cancelled trials

After you cancel or delete your trial, the content you added to it is marked for permanent deletion. It generally takes more than 30 days for us to remove content from our systems, although your content isn't publicly accessible during this period. To learn more, visit deleting your site and its content

Was this article helpful?
57 out of 231 found this helpful
Cancelling a Squarespace trial